Not Finished Yet

I had been pondering starting my own blog for a number of months, even since a certain friend started her own blog.  (Ruth, you know who you are! 🙂 )  But, I’ve read enough blogs to know that it’s nice to have a catchy title for one’s blog.  So, here’s the two-fold story behind my blog’s title.

1) When I was growing up, there was a small hand-stitched picture on my wall of a little girl with brown pigtails.  Next to her were the words “Please be patient with me; God isn’t finished with me yet.”  Seeing that picture over and over through my childhood made an impression on me.  Now, although I am (theoretically) grown up, I still feel like I have such a long way to go before I’m truly grown up.  I still say and do things that later make me bang my forehead against my hand in disbelief at my sheer idiocy, selfishness, and/or complete lack of tact.  So, I would definitely say that I am “not finished yet” since I am not yet the woman I would like to become.  Realistically, I don’t think I will be the woman I want to be until I arrive in heaven, but it doesn’t mean I will stop making an attempt.

2) Being a perfectionist AND a procrastinator (a lethal duo!), there are so many things in my life that are “not finished yet.”  Baby books, cross-stitch pictures, organizing projects, and more mundane tasks like cleaning, laundry, dishes, the ever-accumulating stack of papers by the phone — I can always find something that is not finished yet.

Will these be finished someday?  Maybe.  But regardless of whether things are finished or not, I am so thankful for the life with which I have been blessed.  I have a wonderful husband, two beautiful girls, family and friends who love me, a part-time job I enjoy, and I know why I’m on this earth and where I’m going.  That’s more than most people have in a lifetime.

So, even though I am “not finished yet” in many ways, I know that I am exactly where God wants me to be.  All of this around me is temporary.  Someday it really won’t matter whether I was organized or not.  What will matter is that I know and love Jesus as my Savior, that I turn to him for daily forgiveness and strength, and that I try my best to demonstrate God’s love to the people in my life.  I also want to join with my husband to do our best to raise our girls to know and love Jesus as their Savior, and to give them a living example of what a Christian life and marriage look like.

I am not finished yet.  And it’s a good place to be.

