Happiness is… and is not

Happiness is when your older daughter spontaneously starts reading “The Very Hungry Caterpillar” to her baby sister on the floor of the family room.

Happiness is not when your dearly loved husband is preparing to leave for four days.  Anxiety is trying its best to overtake my emotions, and I’m doing my best to ignore it and push it aside.  I KNOW I’m going to be okay.  I was just fine the last time he left, and that time I was on my own for five days.  Plus these times on my own are probably good for me in the long run.  They assure me that I really can stand on my own two feet, and they make me face the tigers in my life.  They make me grow up.  They make me realize how much I need to rely on God for strength in my day to day life, because I really can’t do it all on my own.  These times with him gone ARE good for me.

But, man, I hate when he goes away.

Guess I’ll have to focus on the things that make me happy, the people that are staying with me.  And, God bless my daughters, because those two wonderful girls sure do make me happy.

One thought on “Happiness is… and is not

Comments are closed.