doin’ the happy dance!

‘Cause JJ is home, safe and sound!  The girls and I did just fine with him gone, but with his return, the world is back to rights again.   🙂  I hate to say this, but as much as I dislike having JJ gone, I think it’s really good for me.  It certainly works to restore my self-confidence, something that has taken a big beating over the past couple of years.  It also forces me to be more efficient and effective in how I use my time, and in doing so, it makes me see how I could continue those same actions even when JJ is here.  All in all, having him gone for a few days here and there is turning out to be a blessing, just like everything else in my life.  It’s amazing how, when you try to keep your focus on Christ, everything turns out to be a blessing, even the things you wouldn’t expect to see as a blessing.  And, for those of you who read the “Meditations” devotions, weren’t last week’s devotions just excellent?  Wow.  What a blessing it is to be a Christian.

Since JJ’s home, tonight I had the rare and wonderful opportunity to go shopping sans the progeny.  And, I’m proud to say, this shopping trip’s attempt to be frugal and save gas was much more succesful than my previous attempt.  I first hit my local Hallmark store to get Mother’s Day cards for the Moms in my life.  While in the store, I noticed that Michael Buble was playing over the sound system.  Now, I don’t know about your musical tastes, but the first time I heard Mr. Buble, I thought, “Ugh, I don’t like him.  He sounds like a Frank Sinatra wannabe.”  But, over the last year or two, I’ve caught a few of his shows on our local PBS station, have been more and more impressed each time, and I have come to rescind my earlier assessment of him.  In fact, now I really think well of him.  So, as a Mother’s Day treat to myself, I bought my first Michael Buble album, titled “Call Me Irresponsible.”  I’m psyched about it for many reasons, one of which is the fact that he recorded the song “Meglio Stasera,” which was used in the original “The Pink Panther” movie, staring Peter Sellars.  I LOVE that song in that movie!  So, I’m excited to dig into this album.

Anyway, I digress.  So, I was shopping, and after Hallmark store I walked about a quarter of a mile (it’s a big outdoor mall) in the darkening twilight to Toys ‘R Us.  Oh. My. Goodness.  Have you recently been into a TRU?  It’s absolute insanity.  I was not able to find the thing I wanted for Lyd, but I did buy an inflatable pool with an inflatable cover.  And, I walked through much of the store, just struck by the sheer mass of purchaseable items.  Good thing I was not toting a child along; there’s no way I would have gotten out of there without buying more things if Lyd had been with me.

After the purchase of the pool, I finally made my way to Target, which was the main impetus for this trip.  JJ and I were in need of the basics of life, like toothpaste, shaving cream, contact solution, etc.  So, all those things were purchased (with coupons!  Yay me!), and I even treated myself to a new laundry basket in a fun shade of 60’s blue.  (You know the color kitchens used to be from that era?  That’s the color of my new laundry basket.  It’s Totally Groovy!)  My old laundry basket is completely split from top to bottom on one side, but it has lived a long and happy life.  It’s time for it to have its eternal rest.  Although, realistically, it will probably end up being the rag holder out in the garage.  A good use for it!

In other things that are makin’ me happy right now, I managed to get all the downstairs floors cleaned in the house while JJ was gone.  Everything was either vacuumed or mopped.  All surfaces were in DESPERATE need of cleaning, so I’m enjoying the fact that everything, for the moment, looks so nice.  Aahh.  So peaceful.  Too bad it won’t stay that way for long, so I’m enjoying it while it lasts.

And, because no entry would be complete without a little story about my girls, last night at bathtime, Lyd started singing the first four notes of Beethoven’s 5th to her baby sister.  You know, “Duh duh duh DUUUUUHHHH!”  That one.  Well, for whatever reason, little Baby J thought that was THE FUNNIEST thing she had ever seen!  She was giving baby belly laughs and baby guffaws!  It was hysterical!  So Lyd and I kept on singing it to Baby J, and she kept laughing up a storm.  I SO wish I could have gotten that on a video, as I’ve never seen J laugh like that.

Today, when we tried the same trick again, Baby J only looked mildly amused.  Go figure.

PS. Thanks to Janette & Ryan for the playdate, for supper, and for teaching Lyd the beginning of Beethoven’s 5th!  You’re awesome!

