vaccine comments

While logging into my blog tonight, I noticed a post about vaccines on the main wordpress sign-in page.  I clicked, read, and was moved to comment.  As it’s practically a post in itself, I decided to add it as a post on my own blog for your enjoyment.  If you’re interested, here is a link to the original blog on which I commented:

It’s true, Correlation is not Causation [meaning that just because a kid got autism after a vaccine, that does not necessarily mean the two are connected], but at the same time, one would have to be blind not to at least acknowledge that as the sheer number of vaccines recommended for children under the age of two has increased, so also has increased the rate of autism.  I personally believe that there are many factors that are involved with autism, more than just vaccinations.  But at the same time, there is SO MUCH anecdotal evidence of children who were fine until they got a certain vaccine.  To say that all of those parents are wrong about what triggered their child’s autism is to also insinuate that those parents don’t know their children as well as they think they do.

As far as getting the measles go [discussing the current measles outbreak in the US, especially around San Diego], there is something to be said for having natural measles immunity via getting the measles (which is not likely to be that much of a problem in a healthy child) versus getting artificial immunity that might come with potential problems and may not be as strong of an immunity anyway.  There is also concern that while breastfeeding does pass on a mother’s immunities to her nursing child, a mother does not as easily pass on vaccine-acquired immunity as she does pass on actively-acquired immunity via actually getting the disease.  (I hope that long sentence made sense!)  I guess what I’m saying is that for some parents, having their child actually GET the disease is better in both the short-term and long-term than merely getting a vaccine for the disease.  I know that I feel that way about chicken pox.  (Of course, the chicken pox vaccine doesn’t seem to work long-term, so in my mind, that’s another reason to attempt to GET chicken pox, rather than to get the varicella vaccine.)

Vaccines are a tough call.  Good people make different decisions.  No matter what, I highly doubt that the next generation of children will be vaccinated the way our children currently are vaccinated.

As for me, I have a hard time accepting the fact that the CDC wants my child to have 27 doses of vaccines before the tender age of one.  That’s an awful lot.  I made the decision to exclusively breastfeed my child, keep her home with me (no day care), and hold off on all vaccines until 9 months, when she got her first shot, the DTaP.  That’s the decision that felt best to me.

One more thing: Vaccines have done a lot of good for society, no question about that.  So why don’t vaccine manufacturers work on creating vaccines for diseases that continue to kill people in less affluent nations, such as TB and malaria?  (Yes, there is a TB vaccine, but it’s lousy and doesn’t work.)  Instead, money is being poured to make vaccines for diseases that people can avoid getting merely by changing their behavior, such as HIV and HPV?  Perhaps that’s not politically correct to say that, but it’s true.  Stop having sex with multiple partners, and your risk of acquiring a sexually transmitted disease such as HIV and HPV decreases dramatically.  Let’s stop making vaccines for diseases that can be acquired through risky behavior (which would thereby make people accountable for their own behavior), and start making vaccines for deadly diseases that truly can be caught by anyone!  Those are the killer diseases for which the world NEEDS vaccines!

