my growing girls

There are some big firsts happening at our house.  Tonight Lyd is at her first sleepover!  A few days ago (Monday night) Curious J took her first step!  At my parents home!  To my father!  It was so sweet.  🙂

Lyd is not excited about starting school yet, but I am excited for her.  The past two days I have been babysitting a girl from our congregation who will be at school with Lyd although she’s a few grades ahead.  She has been so good for Lyd, and they’ve been playing together very well.  Watching them interact made me realize how bored Lyd has been all summer and how much she’s going to love being in school.  Right now she thinks she won’t like it, but I know my girl, and I can’t wait for her to realize how much fun school will be.  I’m so excited for her to start this new phase in her life!  I’m suspect she’ll be reading by Christmas.

Curious J is growing like a weed.  Her hair is getting longer and curlier all the time, and her eyes still can’t be defined into one color.  (Are they blue?  Are they brown?  No one can tell.)  She is eating more solid foods:  Last night I made baked spaghetti and steamed green beans, and she gobbled it down.  She still wakes up twice a night to nurse, however, but I try to look at the positives.  Her nighttime nursings are her best nursings, and I love the snuggle time.  And I know she won’t nurse forever, so I’m going to enjoy it while I can.  And you never know, I might not be able to have another baby, so I want to enjoy our nursing time while it lasts.

My girls are growing so fast!  What a blessing to have such healthy, happy daughters!

