Sarah Palin

Ahh, Sarah Palin.  Such a short time (most of) America has known about her, but what a difference she’s already made!  I think she was a great choice for all the good conservative reasons, but there is one thing I wonder about.  She’s got a four month old special-needs child.  She’s the only mother that child will ever have.  By running for VP, is she putting that baby’s needs second to that of the campaign?  I know, I know, if she were a man, no one would ever ask this of her.  So maybe I’m a little sexist.  But I think about how much energy and effort I have put in to bond and attach with both of my daughters, and while I know that’s partially my personality, I wonder if a woman can effectively do bond and attach with their child while running for major office.  I’m not looking at this from a theological standpoint or anything, but purely from the view of the mother-child relationship.  One of the blogs that I read talked about this topic similarly here.

Personally, I don’t know if I’d be able to put my child second to my career in such a fashion as this.  I suppose one could make the argument that anytime I leave my children with a babysitter while I go off to teach my music classes, I am putting my kids second to my career for those few hours.  But, I do NOT think the scenarios are the same, and I know for a fact that I am a better mother for having gotten out of the house for a few hours and connected with other moms.  But we’re not talking about a 10 hours a week job.  We’re talking Vice President of the United States.  And if I were in her shoes, I just don’t know if I could allow myself to be not part of my child’s life in that way.

BUT, I’m not in her shoes.  Sarah Palin certainly seems to have a lot more energy than I do, and it seems that she is integrating her children into her life quite well.  I found this article that certainly paints that picture.  And it seems that she (or someone!) is setting a good mothering example for the kids to follow.  Did you watch Palin’s speech?  And if you did, did you notice this clip of Piper “fixing” her baby brother’s hair?  SO CUTE!

What about the whole Bristol Palin being preggers at 17?  Should this reflect on Sarah Palin?  Absolutely not.  I don’t think it has anything to do with her being a VP.  And if you say it reflects on her mothering skills, well NOW you’re on dangerous ground.  Because there’s a lot of people out there who have been in Bristol’s shoes; some got pregnant and some didn’t.  And a lot of those people had good mothers.  But people have lapses in judgement, people have hormones, and people sometimes know what the right thing is and still do the wrong thing.  That’s life.  I think everyone should lay off of Bristol Palin, and leave her alone.

All things considered, I am very pleased with McCain’s choice of Sarah Palin for VP.  She’s a true conservative, staunchly pro-life, and I think she would turn Washington on it’s head.  Hopefully she might inspire other Republicans to start acting like true conservatives, too.  Plus, I think selecting Palin made a huge difference in the excitement level of the Republican ticket, a ticket about which few people were excited before.  And, honestly, anything that gives Obama a bigger chance of NOT getting voted into office is a good thing.

JJ found this website with lots of funny McCain/Palin t-shirts, bumper stickers, pins, etc.  My favorites are:

And, this one.  Because it made JJ and I laugh the hardest.

Oh!  Must also mention the anti-Obama ones that I liked, too

Finally, I since this is a political post, I just want to mention that I thought McCain’s speech the other night, while not delivered perfectly and while he’s not a great orator, was heartfelt.  Despite some of my differences with McCain politically, I now believe that he truly wants to serve our country, that he absolutely means well, and that he will honestly try to do the best he can if he’s elected.  He’s not in this for himself; he truly is a public servant.  And it’s someone with that kind of attitude for whom I can whole-heartedly vote, even if we don’t agree on quite everything.

So, politics — yay!

2 thoughts on “Sarah Palin

  1. I think you are right that a woman has the right to work and have a family, I don’t agree that Bristol Palin’s condition has no reflection on Sarah, however, because Sarah advocated abstinence only sex education, and does not support teaching birth control methods that would cut down on teen age pregnancy. She also does not support abortion, even for women who are raped or victims of incest.

    Sarah Palin also opposes any federal regulation that would mandate equal pay for women, or that would pay for child care or child health care. So while she pays lip service to children’s needs, she like most Republicans, fails to put her money where her mouth is.

  2. I don’t know enough about Sarah Palin to know if the views that you’ve attributed to her are true. I do know that many conservatives, whose opinions I trust and respect, are excited and supportive of her, and that’s enough for me at the moment. Hopefully I will have time in the future to learn more about exactly what she believes and supports. But I support less government involvement in the lives of its citizens, and I wonder if her lack of support for federal regulations that mandate pay scales, child care, and child health care is an offshoot of her belief in less government involvement. Just a thought.

    But I do know this: I have heard from a number of varied sources now that Sarah Palin does not support abortion for any reason, and that is exactly how I feel, too. I don’t support abortion, even for women who are victims of rape and incest. Why? you ask. Well, when you actually KNOW and are friends with someone who was a child of rape/incest, then it gives you a brand-new perspective.

Comments are closed.