it all comes down to the gospel

So, I’ve been commenting today over at Wondergoon’s blog about abortion and homosexuality, and I’m mentally worn out.  But it’s been interesting to see how one’s worldview completely affects one’s views on life.  (And I would also like to point out that Wondergoon was better than me at sticking to topic, focusing on the issue, and not attacking me for my differring beliefs!  It’s a rarity to find someone like that, and I commend him for that ability.)  However, Wondergoon and I will never see eye to eye until we adopt similar worldviews, and that doesn’t seem likely to happen.  With that in mind, it’s pointless for us to continue arguing, because there’s no way for us to agree.  But I wonder how pro-choicers (not just Wondergoon, but anyone sharing his views) deal with the issue of when DOES an unborn baby attain some level of rights.  With babies being born earlier and earlier and surviving, it creates interesting situations.  Furthermore, with medical science providing ever-clearer pictures and gaining greater understanding of early womb life, it becomes more difficult to prove that that unborn child is NOT a person.  Science is backfiring on pro-choicers.  Praise God!

As I talked about these topics with my pastor-husband, he shared two thoughts with me, and I would like to share them here for all of you to read, as a way to wrap-up this topic.  On to lighter thoughts tomorrow!  🙂

His first wise thought was this, “Hard cases make bad law.”  While I still don’t believe in abortion, even in cases of rape and incest, I also concede that there might be situations where I would be hesitant to pass judgement on someone.  Wondergoon twice raised the idea of a 12 year old pregnant by her father.  If someone actually WAS in that situation, I don’t honestly know what my answer would be.  God forbid that should ever happen.  But, regardless, I don’t think abortion laws should be based on extreme cases, such as that one.

I do know this much: Life is precious.  All life, no matter how young or how old the person, is precious.  Life is always a gift of God.  God says in the Bible that all the days of our lives are written in his book before even one of them came to be.  I believe that our lives are in God’s hands.  It is God’s choice to create life; it is likewise his choice to end it.  It’s best to keep that main principle first and foremost in our minds when discussing abortion, and to deal with hard cases as they emerge.

My pastor-husband’s second wise words were this: “It all comes down to the gospel.”  When you hold to a Christian, gospel-centered worldview, these “hard questions” become much easier, and often are avoided all together.  Abortion? It’s a sin, but if you’re following the lifestyle that God wants his children to live, it won’t be an issue.  If you’re having sex, then it’s because you’ve followed God’s law and gotten married, and God says that children are a blessing that comes out of marriage.  In fact, most of society’s ills are no longer a problem if you’re following God’s law.  I suppose that might seem like a boring lifestyle to people who are not Christians, but what have I truly missed out on by living as a Christian?  Overdoses of recreational drugs? Abortions? Drunken stupors? Switching from one sexual partner to another (aka. loneliness)? Living for myself (aka. more loneliness)? Freedom to do whatever I want (aka. aimlessness)?  I am grateful to be a Christian and to have avoided all those things!

I am grateful, so grateful, that God has made me his child.  I had nothing to do with it; it was all God’s doing.  I am grateful that he pulled me out of the sin-controlled pit of this world, and set my feet on a path towards heaven.  I am grateful to know that Someone is in control of the events of my life, guiding my footsteps and making everything work together for my good.  I’m glad to know that this world isn’t all there is; I am SO thankful for the sure hope of an eternity in heaven.

And I couldn’t be thankful for any of these things without the gospel, that gospel that says that Jesus Christ came to this world to save sinners, when we couldn’t save ourselves.  It all really does come down to the gospel, the gospel that says that Jesus paid for our sins with his blood on the cross, and rose again on Easter Sunday morning to prove his victory over sin and death.  And I am grateful that that salvation has become mine through faith, faith created in me at my baptism, and faith nurtured every day of my life by reading and studying the Bible and through Holy Communion.

I’m sure Christianity seems like a fool’s idea to an outsider, but that’s okay.  The Bible says that will happen: “For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.” (1 Cor. 1:18) Well, what if it IS foolishness, a made-up story, meant to make those of weak minds feel better about their everyday lives?  Then I have lost nothing.  I’ll just die like everyone else and my life will be over.

But if I’m right?  If I’m right, I gain an eternity in heaven.  I’ll risk my “boring” Christian life at the chance for an eternally perfect life in heaven.  I am more than happy to take that risk!

