flu vaccine outrage

So, I happened to run across this article on MSN the other day.  I was, of course, disgusted.  Yes, great idea, let’s vaccinate ALL kids, infants to 18 year olds, against whatever flu strain the CDC THINKS is going to be the problematic one this season!!  Because we all know the flu vaccine worked SO WELL last year!!  Blech.

Furthermore, I don’t believe the job of medicine and health care is to keep people alive forever.  One of the main reasons given in defense of having as many people as possible get the flu shot is so that elderly people won’t get the flu and get pneumonia and die.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not advocating purposefully getting old people sick so they die sooner.  Far from it!  But, neither do I believe that the rest of us should be (figuratively) walking around on eggshells so that a certain segment of the population doesn’t get sick!  People need to be free to live their lives.  And, you know what?  We’re all going to die of something.  No one escapes death.  People need to be responsible for their own health.  Many Americans seem to think that they should be able to live however they want, however unhealthfully they want, and then the doctors will magically cure whatever ails them as a result of their unhealthy lifestyle.  I completely disagree with that.  (Which is why I also am against universal health care provided by the government.  But that’s a different topic.  All I will say is, look at Canada’s healthcare system.  When people have serious medical crises, what do they do?  They go across the border to the good ol’ USA, that’s what they do.  Where are new medical devices created?  In the good ol’ USA!  My friend is in the new medical devices field, and he has said more than once that if universal health care is enacted in the USA, his job is gone.  Besides, when has the government EVER taken over ANYTHING and improved it?  Think how much of a pain the IRS is, the DMV is – now imagine dealing with that level of incompetence with a sick child in tow.  God forbid our country should EVER go that route!)

I, for one, refuse to vaccinate my kids against whatever the CDC and Merck decide is going to be a “problem” this year.  Instead, I will focus on keeping my kids healthy, rather than merely preventing illness.  It sounds like the same, but having the goal of “wellness” is much different than having the goal of “not getting sick.”  And if my kids DO get the flu?  Thank God that there are so many alternative and herbal remedies for dealing with the flu.  I’d much rather take the smaller risk of having to utilize those remedies than take the bigger risk of getting a flu shot of dubious value and highly questionable ingredients (can you say, MERCURY?)

I just don’t believe in the value of these kinds of vaccines.  I don’t believe in them, I don’t think they’re healthy, I think these kinds of vaccines are just another way for Big Pharma to line its own pockets, and I think these vaccines encourage the recipients to forgo personal accountability for their own health.  I pray that the government does not start mandating these flu vaccines, because watch out.  There are more than a few parents out there who think like me, and they WILL speak up.

good posture, please

I had another chiropractor appointment this morning, and we talked a bit about reasons why my neck and shoulders have so many problems.  I’ve been pondering that question lately, with my shoulder, arm and hand bothering me so much, and I’ve realized a few things.

The first thing is that I’ve had chronically bad posture ever since Lyd was born almost 5 years ago.  I remember my abdominal muscles being so weak post-birth that I couldn’t even sit up straight.  I wonder if that initially pushed me into a habit of bad posture, a habit that I haven’t managed to break.  (Although I often wonder if I had a little post-birth trauma after Lyd’s birth that caused the horrible posture.  While, yes, every woman’s abs hurt after pushing a melon out of her yoo-hoo during childbirth, in the minutes after Lyd was born, I remember a nurse “massaging” my abdomen to get my uterus to contract.  Ha!  Massage, my derierre!  That quasi-massage HURT (and I had just finished with a natural childbirth!)  But I ignored it; I was in bliss holding my newborn babe and I was all high because I’d just accomplished a natural childbirth.  Yet my gut was quite sore in the days and weeks following, and at the time I just assumed it was part of having a baby.  However, with Baby J’s birth, the sore abs didn’t happen, partially because I asked the nurse not to “massage” so hard (I even put it into my birth plan and talked to my OB about it), but also because after J’s birth, I was bleeding pretty heavily, so they gave me a shot of Pitocin to get my uterus to calm down.  So was that initial gut “massage” the catalyst to all this?  Who knows.)

The second thing is that I tend to carry my tension in my shoulders and neck.  I don’t know why, but I do.  I clench my jaw pretty badly.  The dentist says I should get one of those mouth-guard thingies.  Yeah, yeah, blah, blah.  But I’m sure that doesn’t help my neck stay in alignment.

The third thing is that, not only is my computer set up not entirely ergonomic, I sit with bad posture and droop my wrists onto the table.  I’m now trying to type sitting up straight, exactly facing the keyboard, and holding my wrists up, as if I’m playing piano.  It seems to help.  My arm seems to be able to handle typing longer in this position, although it still can’t take typing for very long.

So, of my own volition, I am now making an attempt to walk and sit and type with correct posture.  I don’t know if it will help fix my neck and shoulders, but it sure can’t hurt.

(Good grief!  I just wrote an entire blog post about POSTURE!!!  No wonder no one is reading this blog!  Must write something more interesting…)