flu vaccine outrage

So, I happened to run across this article on MSN the other day.  I was, of course, disgusted.  Yes, great idea, let’s vaccinate ALL kids, infants to 18 year olds, against whatever flu strain the CDC THINKS is going to be the problematic one this season!!  Because we all know the flu vaccine worked SO WELL last year!!  Blech.

Furthermore, I don’t believe the job of medicine and health care is to keep people alive forever.  One of the main reasons given in defense of having as many people as possible get the flu shot is so that elderly people won’t get the flu and get pneumonia and die.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not advocating purposefully getting old people sick so they die sooner.  Far from it!  But, neither do I believe that the rest of us should be (figuratively) walking around on eggshells so that a certain segment of the population doesn’t get sick!  People need to be free to live their lives.  And, you know what?  We’re all going to die of something.  No one escapes death.  People need to be responsible for their own health.  Many Americans seem to think that they should be able to live however they want, however unhealthfully they want, and then the doctors will magically cure whatever ails them as a result of their unhealthy lifestyle.  I completely disagree with that.  (Which is why I also am against universal health care provided by the government.  But that’s a different topic.  All I will say is, look at Canada’s healthcare system.  When people have serious medical crises, what do they do?  They go across the border to the good ol’ USA, that’s what they do.  Where are new medical devices created?  In the good ol’ USA!  My friend is in the new medical devices field, and he has said more than once that if universal health care is enacted in the USA, his job is gone.  Besides, when has the government EVER taken over ANYTHING and improved it?  Think how much of a pain the IRS is, the DMV is – now imagine dealing with that level of incompetence with a sick child in tow.  God forbid our country should EVER go that route!)

I, for one, refuse to vaccinate my kids against whatever the CDC and Merck decide is going to be a “problem” this year.  Instead, I will focus on keeping my kids healthy, rather than merely preventing illness.  It sounds like the same, but having the goal of “wellness” is much different than having the goal of “not getting sick.”  And if my kids DO get the flu?  Thank God that there are so many alternative and herbal remedies for dealing with the flu.  I’d much rather take the smaller risk of having to utilize those remedies than take the bigger risk of getting a flu shot of dubious value and highly questionable ingredients (can you say, MERCURY?)

I just don’t believe in the value of these kinds of vaccines.  I don’t believe in them, I don’t think they’re healthy, I think these kinds of vaccines are just another way for Big Pharma to line its own pockets, and I think these vaccines encourage the recipients to forgo personal accountability for their own health.  I pray that the government does not start mandating these flu vaccines, because watch out.  There are more than a few parents out there who think like me, and they WILL speak up.

