grateful

Last night, I felt horrible.  I don’t know what was wrong, but I was Not Right At All.  So rather than staying up to do my dishes and write my nightly blog, I instead went to bed at 8:30 (on a night with a new episode of “The Office” on, no less!).  I read for a while, turned out my light by 9pm, and conked out almost immediately.

I slept soundly until 1am, when JJ came upstairs to go to bed.  Then, I woke up, and, despite trying all the tricks I know, I was unable to get back to sleep until almost 5am.

Sigh.

And when I did get back to sleep, I proceeded to have a nasty nightmare.  Following that, I was also woken up by the baby at 6:30am.  (No, the baby wasn’t the nightmare. 😉  )

I don’t know what was up with me last night.  I have suspicions, but they’re just suspicions.  Regardless of why I was awake literally all night, it was frustrating.

But, hope springs eternal.  A better night is coming, right?  If nothing else, JJ is currently on a plane headed away from here for 24 hours, so outside of Curious J’s middle-of-the-night feeding, I should be able to sleep undisturbed tonight.

I don’t want to whine.  No one wants to read someone else’s whinings.  And I certainly didn’t want to spend my awake time last night whining to myself.  So, as I lay in bed last night, I did what I often do in these (unfortunately, more frequently occuring) situations — I pray.

One particular family that I prayed for last night has a blog for which I have included a link in my blogroll for some time.  Confessions of a CF Husband is a blog that if you don’t currently keep tabs on, you should.  Yesterday the father updated his family’s story on the front page of his blog.  However, earlier this week they had some very bad news, news for which they definitely need prayers.

So, there was that to think about.  Suddenly, my problems didn’t seem so bad.  At least I didn’t have a reason to be lying awake at night, if you know what I mean.

Now this afternoon, I clicked over to my new favorite blog, She Laughs at the Days, and read her post on Gratitude.

I, too, have so much to be grateful for.  My husband, my children, my home, my job, my laundry piled up on the floor, my pantry and freezers overflowing with food, my two cars that run beautifully.  And my friends – what would I do without my dear friends?  I am SO blessed.

On top of all that, I have heaven waiting for me.  I will always have heartaches and problems in this life, sometimes through my own fault, sometimes through the fault of others, and sometimes through no one’s fault.  But heaven is mine, and nothing can take that away from me.  I am right with God, therefore, as the poet said, “all’s right with the world.”

That’s a reason to be glad and be grateful every day of my life.

Even if I don’t sleep well again tonight.

Which may happen.

But I’ll still be okay.

And if nothing else, extra opportunity to pray is always a good thing.

2 thoughts on “grateful

Comments are closed.