sleep, glorious sleep

or, “How My Chiropractor Helped Me to Fall in Love with My Baby All Over Again.”

So, the fussy baby.  We were talking about that recently.  I was wondering if perhaps it was something I was/wasn’t feeding her.  I asked for help, and many of you graciously responded, both here on my blog and via personal emails.  Thanks to each and every one of you!

And here we are now, and I am typing a post titled “sleep, glorious sleep!”  (Remember the musical “Oliver,” when they sing “food, glorious food”?  That’s the tune I’m using for the title of this post.)  So, something good must have happened, right?

Yup.

🙂

First thing was that after typing my post about what to feed Curious J, I hauled tail over to my local Whole Foods, and purchased a bunch of toddler-friendly foods, such as:

  • Earth’s Best Organic Whole Grain Wheat Semolina Pastina – (very easy, J loved it when I mixed it in with her baby veggies and baby meat)
  • Earth’s Best Organic Crunchin’ Grahams – (J LOVES these already!)
  • Healthy Times Teddy Puffs – (J doesn’t like these quite as much as other, but she still likes them.  They’re a tad on the big side, so I think that’s the problem.  They taste delicious to me!)
  • Familia’s Original Swiss Baby Muesli from Switzerland.  We haven’t tried this one yet, but it’s made of oat flakes, wholemeal flour (wheat, rye and barley), dried bananas, dried apples, millet flakes, and Vitamin B1.  You mix it with warm or cold milk, stir and serve.  Sounds like a good breakfast to me, especially when pared with some yummy goat’s milk.

What?  Goat’s milk?  Oops, I’m getting ahead of myself…

I also picked up jars of organic baby food, so that I could back J off from too much table food while still getting the needed calories into her system.  So far, so good.

The next morning was my usual Monday morning visit with my Chiropractor.  I brought J with me, and when Dr. asked me how I was doing, I said said that I was doing better, but that my baby had been driving me nuts the previous week.  I said it was like she had colic – she was fussing all the time!  He asked if he could take a look at her, and I agreed.  We gently put her tummy-down on my legs, he felt up and down her spine a bit, and within a few seconds I heard a few light popcorn-popping-like sounds coming from J’s spine.  He explained that those spots are usually “out” in babies with colic.  I then flipped her over onto her back, and he checked her neck and did a little adjustment there, too.  “She should be a lot better now,” he said.

After my adjustment (by the way, my carpal tunnel is getting a lot better.  My new computer set-up seems to be making a difference, and I’m really trying to use good posture when I’m at the computer.  Plus, I’m trying to be conscious of how I pick up and hold J, and especially how I lay her down on her changing table.  I’ve changed how I hold her when I do those actions, and it seems to be making a difference.)  Dr. said that my rotator cuff in my shoulder, which has been the problem all along, is moving a lot smoother and more easily than it used to.  He also reminded me that the problems I’m having are common in mothers with small children.  So, we’re seeing progress.

Anyway, after my adjustment, I mentioned to the Dr. what his thoughts were about starting J with some formula and/or whole cow’s milk.  He responded with a suggestion to try goat’s milk instead.  The protein molecules are smaller and more easily digested, and it causes less allergies in babies.  When he mentioned goat’s milk, a light went off in my brain, because I had heard that about goat’s milk somewhere before.  I thanked the Dr. and said that I would definitely be giving goat’s milk a try with J.

That afternoon, I took both girls to Whole Foods again.  I returned the unopened can of formula I had bought the previous day, and picked up some goat’s milk.  (We also bought a few other things, stopping by the bakery along the way.  Note to self: always go to Whole Foods around 5pm, because that’s when they take the “old” cookies, break them into fourths, and leave them by the back for anyone to eat.  Yum!  My favorites were there – cranberry orange cookies.  They’re SO good!)  We returned home not only with the goat’s milk, but also with supper from the deli (no cooking for me!)

That night, I fed J a big supper, which she still fussed through, and I gave her a bottle of goat’s milk with her meal.  She didn’t seem to mind it; I think she drank about 2 oz of it.  Lyd and I tried the goat’s milk, too.  At first Lyd said she liked it, but she later changed her mind.  I thought it was okay.  I bought whole goat’s milk, not 1%, and it was REALLY creamy.  I thought it tasted like real whipped cream before sugar is added.

So, after that hearty supper, we did our normal routine of a bath and then bedtime.  I closed her bedroom door behind me at 7:20.

And I didn’t heard from her again until 7:17 am the next morning.

That’s 12 hours, people.

TWELVE. HOURS.

Never in her life has she done twelve straight hours of sleep!!!

The following day (Tuesday) she took a one hour morning nap AND an almost two-hour afternoon nap.  Amazing!  She was in bed by 8ish, and slept until 6:15 this morning.

That’s ten hours!  Not quite as good as twelve, but ten hours is definitely worth jumping up and down a little bit.  🙂

W.O.W.

Apparently the magic combination of Chiropractic Adjustment + Goat’s Milk + Extra Snacks and Bigger Meals = a sleeping child.

Considering that before this I could count on one hand the number of times J had slept longer than 8 hours in her entire life, I am beyond thrilled!  And I am so thankful!  God is good!  He provides the answers his children need right when they need them.

—–

Of course, today we had out-of-the-ordinary activities planned due to Lyd’s birthday that turned the day into a no-nap day.  I tried to get her to take a noontime nap, but J didn’t cooperate.  That said, she’s still been vastly less fussy than before, and I still think we’re going to be okay.  Tomorrow will be a quieter day; we’ll make sure there is time for the naps to happen at better times again.

3 thoughts on “sleep, glorious sleep

  1. Good for you!!! I was considering goat’s milk for Rach a while back when she didn’t seem to like cow’s milk. This was around the time of weaning, and we had similar food/caloric issues. But since the only goat’s milk you can get around VV is in a can, I did not want to do that to my DD. Then she started to like cow’s milk and it was a done deal from then on. So happy for your sleep!

  2. Actually, with JJ gone, I’ve been going to bed later than usual. Shh. Don’t tell him. lol

    But it was nice to be able to go to bed later — and not be woken up by a baby! And it was definitely nice to have a well-rested, non-fussy baby!

    Once JJ’s back, hopefully I’ll get back into my more normal bedtime, and if she continues sleeping, it will be All Good.

    🙂

  3. The next time you’re in Whole Foods, check out HAPPYBITES, yummy finger foods with hidden veggies and nutritious dipping sauces. Curious J can have veggie tots or mac + cheese with four hidden vegetables. They’d make a healthy snack for Lyd.

Comments are closed.