losing teeth, gaining maturity

This morning, Lyd came into my bedroom saying, “Momma, I have a hole in my mouth!”  Yes, she pulled out her first tooth all by herself this morning, exactly one week after we first noticed it was loose.  I asked her if it bled at all, and she said, “A little.”  Good thing I had told her to expect it to bleed a bit!  But she said it didn’t hurt at all, and I think she was pretty proud to have done it all by herself.  She saved the tooth to show me, I put it in a bag, and it was her “show and tell” item for school this morning.

The question is: How long do I save the tooth?  I don’t know if I really want to save it forever.  And, like Grandma Violet says, eventually everything gets thrown out anyway.  We’ll see, I guess.  I’ll keep it for at least a little while.

—–

And in other “my baby is growing up!” news, I took Lyd with me yesterday while I taught my first Music Together birthday party.  I haven’t taken Lyd with to a music class in over a year and a half, as she was having a really difficult time being part of the circle and participating appropriately, especially when Momma was the teacher.

When I told her that the birthday party I was going to be teaching at was a costume party (because the little girl’s birthday was actually Oct. 31) and that Lyd had been invited to come along if she’d like, she very much wanted to go.  Remembering the ornery, contrary behavior of the past, I told Lyd that I honestly wasn’t sure if I wanted to take her, because she used to be so ornery in class.

“But Momma,” she said, “I’m FIVE now.”

Well, then.

I told her that she would have to treat me like she treats her Kindergarten teacher, Mrs. H.  She would have to sit in the circle, sing the songs, and do the actions.  Lyd insisted that she could do that and that she wanted to come.  I figured she was excited about wearing her Sleeping Beauty costume again as much as she was excited about going to a birthday party, but in the end I decided to take her along.  I suspected she’d do okay (or I wouldn’t have brought her), but I also realized that this could backfire on me.  En route to the party, I second-guessed myself, having visions of dealing with a contrary child while in a strange home trying to be the entertainment at a child’s birthday party, and I wondered if I’d made a big mistake.

BUT, Lyd exceeded all my expectations for good behavior.  Apparently in the year and a half since she’s attended a music class, she has outgrown/ forgotten all her ornery behavior.  She did SO WELL.  She sang, she did actions, she participated, and when she asked to take off her tights during class and I told her “no,” she accepted it without fuss.  Despite having never met the four-year old birthday girl, Maya, before the party, she and Maya instantly hit it off, causing Maya’s father (whom I had never met) to ask me how long Lyd and Maya had known each other.  “They just met today,” I said, and he responded that they were playing together like old friends, to which I totally agreed.

So, it all went well.  After the party, I declared to Lyd that with behavior like this, she is welcome at ANY music class I teach, so she is already planning to come with me to my Saturday classes some morning.  My first in-home birthday party was a great success, and I got a nice check for my labors, as well as a belly full of good pizza from a new pizza place which JJ and I will be frequenting in the future, and a taste for a really good organic Italian soda made by Safeway, which I also will be trying again in the future.  Lyd made a new friend, and I suspect there may be some playdates in the future.

Best of all, I now feel quite validated in knowing that I did the right thing in not bringing Lyd to class for all this time.  I am so pleased that I resisted the urge to push her into music class and instead gave her the time she needed to grow and mature.  Her earlier, non-compliant behaviors told me she just wasn’t ready for music class yet, so rather than labeling her as disobedient and trying to force her to do as I wanted, I just backed off.  Each child develops differently at a different pace, and Lyd is no exception.  She has always done things on her own timetable (ie. taking until almost four to finish potty training), and when I’ve pushed her beyond what she was ready, without fail it has resulted in frustration and disaster.  I am pleased that respecting her pace, while it has requried a lot of patience from me, has produced such fabulous results.  I also think that starting school has made such a big difference for Lyd.  I’ve seen SUCH a change in her behavior for the better, and I’m just so incredibly pleased.  Five is a fantastic age!

My firstborn is really growing up!  She’s losing teeth, she’s becoming so well-behaved and so helpful, and have I mentioned how tall she is?  And have I mentioned her long blonde hair and blue-green eyes?  She’s quite the little lady.

—-

Oh, and she informed me today, “Momma, I can’t wait until I’m eight years old!”

“What happens when you’re eight years old, honey?”

“Then I’m all grown-up!”

“I think that’s when your eight-TEEN, sweetie.”

“No, Momma, I’m grown-up when I’m eight.”

🙂

2 thoughts on “losing teeth, gaining maturity

  1. My Grandpa kept all of the teeth that my dad and his brothers lost. When he died, no one wanted the teeth, so they are buried with Grandpa in his suit coat breast pocket. Just an idea….

Comments are closed.