sunset of a vacation

My brother boarded a plane home today.  We were all sad to see him go, but so glad that he surprised us by coming.  It was so wonderful to have him here for my birthday and Christmas!  And, he was incredibly helpful!  He willingly washed and/or dried dishes, cleaned up the toyroom after the girls went to bed, took out the trash, cleaned out the cat’s litterbox, and even bought and prepared supper for us one night!  (He’s going to make some woman a good husband someday – email me if you’re single and interested. 😉 ) Lyd thoroughly enjoyed having her favorite uncle around.  It took Curious J a few days to warm up to him, but once she did, they got along just fine.  When we took the Caltrain up to San Francisco on Friday night, J rode in her uncle’s arms most of the way.

So now, life is shifting back to “normal.”  The house never did get clean over Christmas retained its “lived-in” look over the holidays, so I’m hoping to spend these next days literally and figuratively sweeping out 2008 in preparation for 2009.  Unfortunately, Curious J has been up for two hours at a stretch the last three nights, which has been really draining.  Add to that a cold that I finally succumbed to after Christmas (Pulsatilla to the rescue again!), and I’m a really tired Momma.

But tonight we are all back to our usual sleeping arrangements, which means I won’t have to dash into the nursery right away when J fusses for fear that she will wake up her older sister.  Lyd is once again sleeping in peace and quiet in the guest room, which should allow her an uninteruupted night’s sleep.  Plus, I made sure to feed and water Curious J well today, as I suspect that might have been the culprit behind her drawn-out middle-of-the-night wakings.  So hopefully, she (and therefore, I) will sleep better tonight as well.

I leave you with pictures taken yesterday on my brother’s last evening in California.  We drove up to the Marin headlands to get pictures looking down onto the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco at sunset.  Apparently, a whole bunch of other people had the same idea, so parking on the curvy, almost-hanging-off-a-cliff road was … interesting.  But the pictures we got were fantastic.  In the next day or two, I’ll be posting the personal pictures to my Facebook account.  In the meantime, enjoy these shots of the fog rolling in over the GG Bridge at dusk.  If you can imagine the loud foghorn blowing out at regular intervals down below at ocean level, you might get a bit of a feel for what it was like:

hpim3013

hpim3017

hpim3036

driving home across the Golden Gate Bridge

driving home across the Golden Gate Bridge

