my new year’s resolutions

I usually make a few new year’s resolutions.  I don’t keep them very well, but I figure that’s okay.  The effort to change is worth it, and the act of making the resolutions at least gives me a shove in the right direction.

So, without further ado, here is my brilliant and profound list of resolutions for 2009:

  1. Plan suppers a week ahead at a time.  When I’ve tried to make weekly meal plans in the past, I’ve planned every single meal, and I invariably stopped doing it after a few exhausting weeks.  This time I’m only going to plan suppers.  Breakfasts are an easy meal for me, and lunches are often leftovers, sandwiches, or some ready-made item from the freezer that can simply be reheated (like a frozen burrito or tamale) and salad.  Suppers are the big-ticket item, so those are what I’m going to try planning ahead a week at a time.  When those are planned ahead, I don’t have to endure the late-afternoon headache of, “What am I going to make for supper tonight?”  This will mean that…
  2. We eat supper each night by 5:30, or 6:00 at the latest.  This will enable the rest of the evening’s routine to happen earlier and more easily.  Dishes might even be able to be washed before bathtime, while the girls have a little post-supper playtime (and clean-up time…)
  3. I’m going to try to be better at making Lyd clean up her toys.  I’m not great at cleaning up my own stuff (improving on that situation is a perpetual goal of mine, not just a new year’s resolution), but I really think I can play off Lyd’s habit (learned at Kindergarten) of putting things away and try to make that happen at home as well.  It’s worth a shot.
  4. I’m going to try to watch how I say things around Lyd.  It’s not that I use foul language or anything, but I’ve noticed my own words coming out of Lyd’s mouth when she plays with her friends.  She says things to her friends that don’t always sound very kind, and as I’ve corrected her, I’ve realized that she’s just parroting what she’s heard me say.  I can make excuses for why I speak the way I do to my children, but in the end, none of those excuses really matter.  What matters is that I change what I’m doing so that Lyd has a better example to learn from.  This may be the hardest change that I’m resolving to make, but it might also be the most important.
  5. I’m going to really work on having good posture, whether sitting or standing (types Emily as she sits slouched at the computer with one foot underneath her.  I’ve fixed that now.)
  6. Once again, I’m going to try to get to bed earlier, ideally by 10:30.  If resolution #2 happens, this resolution will be a little easier to make a reality.
  7. I’m going to start wearing perfume again.  I stopped wearing perfume when I gave birth, as a newborn nursing babe doesn’t need to be confused by smells other than that of her mother.  But Curious J is no longer a newborn babe, and she nurses just fine no matter what I smell like! 🙂  JJ bought me Cashmere Mist by Donna Karan back when we were engaged, and that has become My Scent.  He (and now, Lyd) really like it when I wear my perfume, so I’m going to try to spray a little on at least once a week.

Deep, profound resolutions for 2009.  We’ll see how they work out!

2 thoughts on “my new year’s resolutions

  1. Hey, Em, not that you’re looking for advice or anything, but just this last year I started planning our suppers weekly. I’ve tried this in the past and haven’t been very successful, but I found that using one of those little monthly calendar books let’s me keep everything in one place. (And I can see what we’ve had in the past and when with just a glance.) I can plan for the week (just taking ten minutes or so) and then make my grocery list and then I’m not overbuying or underbuying anything. I’m not super strict with my list and things move around from this night to that night, but it is a HUGE help. I hope it helps you feel more organized and allow your suppers to get prepared without such headaches.

  2. Thanks for the tip, Jackie! I am glad to hear that my idea has already been tested by another tired mama and found to be a good one. Thanks for the encouragement!

Comments are closed.