25 things important to understanding me

I spent far too much some time working on this for my Facebook account, so I thought I would share it here:

25 Random Things About Me

1. People think that I am a good cook, but what I am really good at is following a recipe precisely. If you follow a good recipe exactly, you get good food.

2. I feel compelled to have my dishes washed and my kitchen cleaned before going to bed at night. I love waking up to a clean kitchen.

3. I took 14 years of piano lessons. I got pretty good. My crowning accomplishment was to be able to play Chopin’s “Fantasie Impromptu” from memory. I can’t do that anymore.

4. I played Maria in my high school’s production of “The Sound of Music.”

5. When I was 5 years old, I informed everyone I knew that I was going to marry a boy named Danny. I was teased about it for years afterwards.

6. When I was 20 years old, I met JJ, the man who would become my husband. I knew almost from the start that I really WAS going to marry him. Three years later, I did. 🙂

7. JJ and I have lived in the San Francisco Bay area since July 2001. I have decided that northern CA winters are colder than Wisconsin winters. I know, I know, technically they are not. But I spend more time FEELING cold here than I ever did in WI. Stupid damp winters and not-well-insulated houses…

8. JJ and I live in Silicon Valley. We have wireless internet on the whole church property, including our house. We each have a computer. We each have a blog.

9. JJ and I do not own cell phones. We do not have the dish or cable. We do not play video games. We do not have iPods. We quite possibly may be the last people in Silicon Valley to lack these accessories.

10. Truthfully, I’m a little scared of new technology. I don’t even like to dial on someone else’s cell phone.  I make them dial for me.

11. When we first moved to California, I got a job teaching music in a middle school in a rough neighborhood of San Mateo. My first choir had 43 students, a number of which were bigger than me. I learned to be strict real fast. Some students didn’t like that. One student punched a hole in my classroom wall. I was just thankful he didn’t punch me.

12. I have won a Grammy award. I sang with the SF Chorus on a recording of Mahler’s Symphony #3 done by the San Francisco Symphony and Chorus. It won the Grammy in 2003 for Best Classical Album. (Okay, so I didn’t win the Grammy all by myself. But at least I didn’t screw up the recording!)

13. I had surgery on my left foot at the end of 2005 to remove a dead, atrophied bone. I now wear foot orthotics in my shoes. If I walk around barefoot or in non-orthotic shoes for too long, my feet start to hurt. I cannot describe how incredibly cool it feels to have to wear orthotics at age 32.

14. I usually buy books I’m interested in reading, rather than borrowing them through the library. Therefore, I have a lot of books in my house. I’m starting to wonder where to go with them all as, unfortunately, I can’t seem to give any of them up.

15. I don’t drink coffee. I rarely drink soda. I don’t drink anything with caffeine. I drink a lot of water.

16. I took birth control pills for 3 months when JJ and I were first married. I had horrible, unspeakable reactions to the Pill. I swore that I would never take ANY kind of hormone pill ever again. I continue to stand by that declaration.

17. I have had two natural, drug-free childbirths. These are quite possibly the proudest and most amazing achievements of my life. Both were made possible with the help of incredible doulas. Doulas rock! I want to be a doula when I grow up.

18. I breastfed my first daughter until she was almost 16 months old. My second daughter is now 16 months old, and we are still a nursing duo. Breastfeeding rocks!

19. I had a miscarriage in April 2006. I got post-partum depression after the miscarriage. I never got PPD after the births of my daughters.

20. When I needed help getting pregnant (and staying pregnant!) with baby #2, I did acupuncture treatments. I did acupuncture treatments every two weeks for over six months, and I didn’t stop until my pregnancy with Julia was about 2 months along. (If you’re interested in how acupuncture can help fertility issues in both women and men, check out the book The Infertility Cure by Randine Lewis.)

21. I am a procrastinator.  I am also a perfectionist. I often find excuses not to do something, but when I finally DO start it, you can be darn sure that I’ll do it really well.

22. I also won’t start a project if I don’t know how I’m going to complete all the steps to finish the project. However, if I can manage to get the project started, I almost always find ways to solve whatever problems come up. Getting started is the hardest part.

23. I love peanuts in any way, shape or form. I love milk chocolate, but not dark chocolate. Chocolate covered peanuts are like little drops of heaven to me.

24. I am blessed to live within 15 minutes of two Whole Foods stores as well as two Trader Joe’s stores. Four days a week I can go to a Farmer’s Market either in my own city or a neighboring city. I think this is pretty cool. It is one of the things I love most about the Bay Area.  That and the beautiful views. And living close to the ocean. Come and visit me!

25. I am married to a WELS pastor, but I refer to myself as “Confessional Lutheran” before I tell people that I’m WELS. Since the WELS isn’t a particularly unified church body these days, Confessional Lutheran provides a better description of what my beliefs are. I credit my husband (and the Holy Spirit, obviously) with the fact that I am still Lutheran at all. I marvel every day at how God is working through the events in my life, both big and small, for my good. I am amazed and humbled by his love for me.

And finally,
My husband and my two daughters are the absolute best things that have ever happened to me.  I literally cannot imagine my life without them, and I love them with my whole being.

