unrelated news

I guess I just don’t feel like blogging as much lately.

Having my first bladder infection hasn’t helped.  On Saturday, I slept more than I was awake.  I can’t remember the last time I did that.  Even when my babies were small I never did that.

(For the record, bladder infections are not fun.  No sirree.)

When I’ve had time on the computer lately, for some reason I’ve been playing Spider Solitaire.  I don’t know why.  I used to do that a lot when I was depressed.  However, I’m not depressed right now.  Actually, aside from it burning when I pee, I’ve felt pretty good lately.  A little overwhelmed by everything that needs to be done, but I’m feeling okay.  I’m in a transition, though.  More on that another day…

I have a lot of work to do to get ready to give our taxes to the accountant.  Plus we’re leaving to go to Southern CA next week.  It’s our first family vacation in a while, and our long car trip with our 2004 Honda Odyssey (which now belongs solely to us as we paid off our car loan last week.  16 months, people!  Score!)  It will be Curious J’s first long car ride, and if I’m remembering correctly, it will be Lyd’s first long car trip, too.

Peopel from our church are house-sitting for us while we’re gone to take care of our cat.  I feel the urge to clean up a little bit before they arrive.  There is much to be done.

I did six huge loads of laundry yesterday.  It’s all still waiting to be folded on my couch.  Except for the bedding and towels that have already been put back into circulation.  Sigh.

I’m a little nervous about our trip.  I always get nervous before I travel.  Grr.  We don’t have a specific vacation agenda, either.  I meant to, but…  I guess we’ll just fly by the seat of our pants like we normally do.  I wish I had the energy to be more organized.  I wish someone would come in and live with me and help me get motivated.

I’ve realized that part of my clutter problem is that many items simply don’t have a home.  I don’t know where to go with them, so they go … wherever.  So, I’ve diagnosed the problem.  Great.  Now what?  There’s still stuff everywhere!

I went to Target by myself yesterday.  I walked through the book section, and picked up the book Multiple Bles8ings by Jon & Kate Gosselin (of “Jon & Kate Plus 8” Fame).  I read the entire book last night, cover to cover.  I cannot remember the last time I did that with a book.  I LOVED it.  I cried.  I am inspired.  (Not inspired to have six babies, don’t get me wrong.)  I literally couldn’t put it down.  I admire both Kate and Jon so much, but, being a woman, I really felt drawn to Kate’s voice as she told their story.  I would love to meet this woman.  I admire her already!  Plus her faith in God was obvious thoughout the book, and the lessons she has learned are lessons that I’m still learning.

(Book club ladies: I’ve already read the Duggar book, too, and much to my surprise, I like the Jon & Kate book much better.  Even though both families are fascinating to me, I related to Kate much more strongly.  But, we’ll discuss that in more depth later this spring…)

There’s more to say, but I don’t know how to say it yet.  My mind is full of thoughts, deep, interesting thoughts, but I don’t know how to (or even if I want to) share them.  Like I said, I think I am in the midst of a transition.  And … there it is.

——

One final thought that has intruiged me over the past few days.  Listen to this quote from the book Naturally Healthy Babies and Children by Aviva Jill Romm:

(under the chapter on Urinary Tract Infections: ) “Don’t dismiss emotional issues that may be at the heart of the matter.  The expression pissed off may give you a clue: Is there something angering your child? Language coincidences may be more relevant than we suspect.”

Remember how I said that I was furious with Lyd last Thursday?  I don’t know the last time I was so angry.  24 hours later, I get a bladder infection/UTI.  Isn’t that interesting?  I’m starting to believe in the body/mind connection more all the time.

One thought on “unrelated news

  1. Glad that you loved Kate & Jon’s book so much. I still haven’t read that yet, but really like to watch their show on TLC. Also glad to hear that you are feeling better. Hope that continues! 🙂

Comments are closed.