raining and blowing

Oh!  Hi there!  No, I didn’t forget I had a blog, but I was busy.  And I didn’t feel like blogging.  So, I didn’t.  Not that I didn’t think about my blog.  Because I did.  But, I didn’t blog.  So there.

This weekend, JJ sent me this hilarious link.  The blog is like The Onion for Lutherans.  Enjoy!  (And JJ’s been using his Joel Osteen voice to talk about pork ALL WEEKEND now!)

Speaking of JJ, guess who had his blog named as an “Issues, Etc.” blog of the week last Friday?  My wonderful husband, of course!  He is awesome, and I love being married to him, especially the fact that we can talk “shop” (aka. theology, doctrine, worship, or any other related topic) anytime of the day or night.  And then he tells me I’m pretty. 🙂

Taxes are (mostly) ready for tomorrow.  JJ has to come up with two final figures, but everything else is done.  I don’t have to pull an all-nighter or file an extension — yay!  And I am stoked to do better in 2009.

We are having a windy, rainy winter storm today.  We’re hoping our roof makes it without springing a big leak somewhere into our house (like on top of our baby grand).  Apparently, we desperately need a new roof.  Well, we knew that already, but apparently it’s worse than we realized.  But, so far, so good.  No leaks.  It sure is blowing outside!  I hate wind.  It’s just how I am, but it seems that according to TCM (traditional Chinese medicine) with my particular kind of imbalance, I am one who REALLY hates wind.  This is true.  I don’t remember a time when I have enjoyed being outside on a windy day.

This winter storm is getting JJ and I out of one job, however.  Tomorrow morning is recycling, and with all this blowing and raining, there’s no way we can put our recycling out, lest we want it blown all over the parking lot by morning.  So, it will continue to pile up in our garage for another two weeks.  Good thing we were gone for that one week, otherwise it would REALLY pile up!

With all this cold and snow and blowing, I decided that today was a good day to make a new kind of chili.  It was good; even Lyd liked it.  Here’s the recipe.  Enjoy!

Black Bean ‘n’ Pumpkin Chili
(from Taste of Home magazine)

1 medium onion, chopped
1 medium sweet yellow pepper, chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced (I used more)
2 Tbsp. olive oil
3 C. chicken broth
2 cans (15 oz each) black beans, rinsed and drained
2 1/2 C. cubed cooked turkey (I used 2 C.)
1 can (15 oz) solid-pack pumpkin
1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes, undrained
2 tsp. dried parsley flakes
2 tsp. chili powder (I used 1 tsp.)
1 1/2 tsp. dried oregano
1 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
1/2 tsp. salt

In a large skillet, saute the onion, yellow pepper and garlic in oil until tender.  Transfer to a 5-qt. slow cooker; stir in the remaining ingredients.  Cover and cook on low for 4-5 hours or until heated through.  Makes 10 servings (2.5 quarts).

One thought on “raining and blowing

Comments are closed.