why I am content to never learn how to ski

Perhaps you have never heard of her, but 45-year old actress Natasha Richardson died yesterday after a minor head injury suffered on a beginner ski slope during a private lesson in Quebec, Canada.  She was married to actor Liam Neeson, an actor whose work I greatly admire.

The story of her life is here, the story of her death is here, and the questions raised by her autopsy is here.

THIS STORY GIVES ME ANOTHER REASON TO NEVER LEARN HOW TO SKI.

I did go skiing once, in eighth grade.  It was a bit traumatic.  There were a lot of people on the slopes, and I felt very out of my comfort zone.  I could not even get down the bunny hill without falling numerous times.  The ski lift scared me, and I felt I was going to fall forward and off.  When I finally got up to the top of a mountain, some of the people I was with tried to convince me to go down a hard slope, a double diamond slope.  Against my better judgement, I went about 20-30 feet down, saw the kind of slope I was headed for, managed to stop (by falling down, of course), and trudged back up the hill to the top.  I don’t remember what happened after that, if I went down an easier slope or what.  Obviously, I got down the hill somehow.  But it was NOT a good experience, and I have had zero desire to try skiing since then.

And this story gives me even less-than-zero desire to try skiing again.

Which is sort of a shame, I guess.  I live relatively close to Lake Tahoe and all the lovely ski resorts there.  Well, if someone I know and trust is willing to patiently give me a one-on-one lesson, I might consider it.  Until then, no skiing for me!

2 thoughts on “why I am content to never learn how to ski

  1. Me, too! I had a bad experience the one and only time that I’ve skiied (fell and bounced off my head/neck). I have absolutely NO desire to go again!

  2. That’s it! You’re not going on vacay with me! lol I DO love downhill skiing, though 🙂 But it does seem like an awful lot of celebrities die in skiing accidents… 😦

Comments are closed.