blog highlight – abortion and adoption

Her Bad Mother is the blog of Catherine Connors, one of the most honest writers I have ever had the pleasure to read.  I don’t agree with all the choices that this woman has made in her life, but I find it fascinating to read about her life and her mothering journey.

Her mother recently revealed that many years ago she gave birth to a baby before she was married, and she put that little boy up for adoption.  She tells her story on her own blog.  This brought up a host of emotions for the author who reveals the story of her own unplanned pregnancy here: Abortion Means Never Having to Say You’re Sorry.

Over the years as I’ve spent time in internet forums and in the blogosphere, I’ve cyber-met a lot of women who are pro-choice.  I’ve always found it interesting to see these women grapple with miscarriages and infertility, while at the same time holding to the beliefs that a pro-abortion paradigm requires.  Sometimes woman’s attitudes change and mellow, and sometimes they hold two diametrically opposed positions simultaneously.  I think the post above is an example of that.

I know that for myself, while I’m still most definitely anti-abortion and pro-life, I’ve learned that there are shades of gray in the abortion issue as well.  I ask my longtime readers not to read more into that then what I’ve stated; I haven’t yet found a way to adaquately put this issue into words.  But there is so much more to the issue of abortion than just … abortion.

What do you think about this?

