good in all things

I recently found a blog post written by a woman who had suffered a miscarriage.  In her reflections on the experience, she wrote this:

I’m not of a theology that believes God had some higher purpose and that’s why my baby died. I’m not one of those who is comforted by the thought that God is in control and everything happens for a reason. I don’t believe that.

I am.  I absolutely am.

I can’t tell you how comforting it has been in the dark days of my life, to know that God has some greater purpose in having me go through a particular experience, to know that God is somehow going to bring good out of the bad.  To me, it doesn’t make the bad any less bad, but the idea that, despite all the bad, God is continuing to work in my life and mold me into the kind of woman he wants me to be — that thought greatly comforts me.  It makes me see my life as part of a larger picture, with today’s sorrows becoming intermingled with tomorrow’s deeper joys.

I don’t know what the future holds for me.  I don’t know if I will be granted a life mostly free from sadness and suffering and hardship, or if those will play a prominent role in my life.  I do know this: I am a baptized child of God, and God is on my side.  He is looking out for my good, and while he doesn’t promise to remove all the tough times from my life, he promises to make them a blessing to me.  And not only to me, but to others with whom my life comes in contact.

So, sad events like miscarriages, losses, broken hearts, disappointments, and hardship can then serve to bring us even closer to the God of our salvation, the God who loved us so much that  he went to the cross on our behalf, enduring hell for us so that we could have the sure hope of heaven.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. (Romans 8:28)

I believe that wholeheartedly.  Do you?

2 thoughts on “good in all things

  1. To believe in God is to just realize presence of Supreme lord and our souls are in constant touch with him. Any religion when seen threadbare tells only one thing love Supreme Being and spread happiness.

  2. Always, always, ALWAYS trust the guy who rose from the dead. He put his seal of approval on the contents of the Old Testament and the writers of the New. That means Romans 8:28 is in, and postmodern musings are out.

Comments are closed.