grow garden, grow

The garden that my father planted for me is growing!  (Click here to see the garden being planted.)

All of the beets came up, which is good, because we all love beets.

All of my beets came up.

Look at all those beets!

All of my beans came up, and what fun they were to watch as they sprouted!

The beans just starting to poke their heads up.

The beans just starting to poke their heads up.

Then a few more poked their heads out.

Then a few more poked their heads out.

And now they're all up, and growing rapidly!

And now they're all up, and growing rapidly!

My one hill of zucchini, planted in a big flower pot, came up in a big way.  Each of the six seeds sprouted!  Curious J will have all the zucchini she can eat. 🙂

Look at that zucchini!

Look at that zucchini!

My pear tomato plant is doing well, too; each plant has at least 20 small tomatoes starting to grow, with plenty more blossoms that might yet turn into tomatoes, too.  My peas are starting to come up; I counted at least 10 little sprouts today, with new ones arriving every day.  The scallions started to gently poke their thin heads up two days ago, and the lettuce that shares their box is already going gung ho.  The carrots haven’t poked up at all yet – except I may have seen two thin green shoots today.

I would like to plant a hill of pumpkins yet, but I’d have to find a container big enough to do the job.  I don’t think I have anything that’s the right size that isn’t already being used for something else, so I’ll have to make a trip to the hardware store.

It’s all very exciting to me, a girl who hasn’t gotten to watch an actual garden grow since I was a teenager living at home, having to weed the garden over summer vacation.  Somehow, it’s a lot more exciting when it’s actually your own garden!

The treasured garden.

The treasured garden.

My garden may not be aesthetically pretty, but already we all love it very much.

2 thoughts on “grow garden, grow

Comments are closed.