goals for the week

Goals for the week:

  1. Start weaning off the Ashwagandha.  I’ve been taking full doses of it for the past month, and it was absolutely the right decision under the circumstances.  But, the girls are healthy again, JJ is back home for a few weeks, and it’s time for me to see how I am really doing, without the Ashwagandha masking any symptoms.
  2. Also, possibly start weaning off Valerian at bedtime.  This one I’m not quite as concerned about, because it’s more than just a sleep aid.  Yet, for the same reasons as above, I’d like to start seeing how I’m really doing without being “on” anything.  But if it happens that I’m lying awake at night and can’t fall asleep, I will definitely take it, because it works with zero side effects.
  3. Get to bed by 10:30 or before every night.  Getting to bed on time has gone down the tubes this past month, and thanks to all the Ashwagandha, I haven’t had a problem.  But, I do need sleep, and if I start going to bed earlier on a regular basis, I probably won’t need the Valerian as much anyway.
  4. Stock up on my homemade chicken broth.  This stupid swine flu virus is probably going to hit our little corner of the world sooner or later.  We’re not getting the vaccine in our household, so I want to be ready to get the flu.  Also I plan to stock up on other comfort foods for when people are sick.
  5. Pray for people who need prayers.  There are many.  Sigh.
  6. Work on my financial papers.  The Pear Budget thing is a great idea, as long as I actually DO it.  When I don’t do it, it is worthless.  Right now the dining room table is cleared, so it’s an ideal time for me to spread out for the week and knock this project out.  If I can just get started, it won’t be so bad.
  7. Wait for the spider bite on my foot to heal.  Seriously, that must be what this is; there are two small red dots on the outside arch of my left foot, and they hurt.  The area is hot and hard and a bit throbbing.  I don’t know how or when a spider would have bit me (or why! Why, spider, why did you bite me?  Did you not see me walking around your compadres giant webs and not breaking them?  Did you not see me bringing the schoolchildren over at recess time to witness your compadre wrap up and eat a wasp in an impromptu science lesson moment?  Did you not witness how I instruct my daughter not to wreck spider’s webs or kill spiders that are outside?  I do all of this for you and your buddies, and I don’t even like spiders!  So WHY did you bite me?) but that must be what this is.  We do get some pretty big spiders around here, definitely bigger than ones in Wisconsin.  The kids call the big black and orange ones Pumpkin Spiders.  And the webs these creatures build!  They are some amazing feats of architecture!  They’re actually quite beautiful, especially when the fog leaves droplets all over them.  I’ve seen some as big as three feet across.  Anyway, I digress.  But this spider bite is a real pain in the foot, let me tell you.  I sure hope it’s gone by the end of the week.
  8. Practice organ BEFORE Saturday.  Saturday is Halloween, which means trick or treating.  I would like to be able to focus on Halloween without having to practice organ as well.  Plus, the next day is our big Reformation Service in the afternoon, and I’m helping coordinate the food, as well as making some food.  So, I’ll have plenty to do on Saturday without needing to add organ practicing on top of that as well.

Hopefully I can keep on top of things this week, despite beginning to wean off the anti-anxiety herbal medicines.  We’ll  see what happens…

3 thoughts on “goals for the week

  1. On the swine flu prevention note, Its pretty much all over around here. Dr. offices are reporting that if you have flu symptoms it is 99% likely to be h1n1.

    My husband came down with h1n1 symptoms 2 weeks ago. Thankfully we isolated him until the cough stopped (4 days) and no one else came down with it. I am a little worried about my 4yr old and I, since we both battle asthma and colds have put us over the edge and onto inhalers and in the ER. My stepson had 10 kids sick in his classroom last week and my other son’s school shut down for 3 days to stop the spread of the flu (THANK YOU!!!). The scheduler at the Dr’s seemed a little perturbed that I rescheduled my 4yr olds yearly asthma checkup at the pediatrician last Friday (can you blame me!!). I bought a bottle of motrin since the motrin shelve are practically empty at all the walmarts and such. CrAzY around here!!!

    I’ve read some article on vitamin D and the swine flu also elderberry extract and the flu– interesting stuff. My two boys and I have been taking these for a few weeks, so far we have bypassed the outbreak at school and with my husband. My stepson had a cough one morning and felt chills and had a slight temperature (same as my husband’s first symptoms) I gave him some Vitamin D and Elderberry and sent him to his mom’s house to be cautious around all the high risk people at our house, and when I checked up on him later the fever and cough were gone (within 12 hours).

    Here are some articles on both:
    Canada plans to do a study on vitamin D
    http://www.foodconsumer.org/newsite/Nutrition/Vitamins/270820090705_canada_looks_at_vitamin_d_for_swine_flu_protection.html

    Coincidences relating to vitamin D
    http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/51913.php

    Black Elderberry Extract Benefits

    “A clinical trial during a severe flu outbreak around 1992-93 in Israel confirmed a perfect cure rate of severe flu victims there. Another study performed in Oslo, Norway more recently, around 2002, also confirmed the amazing efficacy for type A or B flu victims of several different strains. The cures mostly occurred in two days while a few were cured in three days. Tamiflu cures occur normally in 4.5 to 5 days. It took 6 days or more for the flu victims on placebos to recover.

    What was used in both Israel and Norway was a Black Elderberry extract product of Israeli origin. There were no side effects from taking this inexpensive flu cure. At the end of this article there is a simple Black Elderberry extract remedy recipe. In other words, you will be empowered with making an abundant supply of this extract cure to have on hand.

    Elderberry has a very high ORAC, or oxygen radical absorption capacity: over twice as much as blueberry. In addition, antioxidants called flavonoids stimulate the immune system. Other compounds in elderberry, called anthocyanins, have an anti-inflammatory effect; which would explain the effect on aches, pains, and fever.” (http://www.naturalnews.com/026354_elderberry_Tamiflu_immune_system.html)

    Elderberry is also mentioned on webmd. http://www.webmd.com/vitamins-lifestyle-guide/colds-flu-immune-system?page=2

    Hope you have a great week.

  2. Hey, thanks for the link on Pear Budget again. I am on their 30-day free trial and think it is pretty cool 🙂

Comments are closed.