my darling girls

I have decided to make a bit of a change on my blog.  I have decided to change my nickname for my second daughter from Curious J to Jujubee.  I thought about switching to using their real names, but privacy concerns won out, so in the end, I decided against it.  Although I must say that my daughters DO have lovely names. 🙂  Most of my readers probably know what my girls’ names are anyway, and if you don’t know, well, in the grand scheme of life, that’s probably okay.  By any name, my daughters are wonderfully sweet and darling.  I’m so blessed to have my two sweet girls!

I had a long conversation with a dear friend this weekend, and one of the things I mentioned was that before I had children, I never pictured myself having two daughters.  In all honesty, I never did picture myself with children at all, although I definitely planned on having kids.  However, I do remember being quite prejudiced against having only daughters.  For some reason (I think I know why, but I won’t go into it), I felt that a woman needed to give birth to a son to truly be successful at bearing children.  It was quite a patriarchal stance to take, wasn’t it!  So, naturally, here I am with two daughters, married to a man who is perfectly fine with having only daughters, and being more comfortable with having only daughters more than I ever imagined!  (Not that I wouldn’t mind having a son, don’t get me wrong.  It’s just that I’m perfectly okay with all girls.  Sometimes I picture having four daughters and I think, “It would be my own version of Little Women!”)

I adore my two girly girls.  In fact, I have a surprise in the works for them.  Plans are for another baby to join our family sometime in the future (as always, God will decide when the time is right), and in preparation for that new arrival, I’m pondering moving the two girls out of the nursery and into their own girly-themed room!  Our home has three bedrooms, all of them upstairs; we have dubbed them the master bedroom, the nursery, and the guest room.  Our guest room is currently in dire need of a makeover.  A few years ago, someone connected with our church gave me two white wicker headboards for twin beds, two white wicker hope chests, and I think there may be a white wicker rocking chair to match it all, too.  All of these items are currently buried in my storeroom in my garage.  So the plan is to totally redo that guest room, paint it pink/shades of pink, put up new curtains, and redo that room into a girly boudoir.  I debated for a long time about taking the double bed out, but I decided that it will go.  I’ve got the twin headboards, and I believe my girls would sleep better in their own beds.  Guests will still sleep in that room, but they will now have to make do with two twin beds rather than one double bed.

I’ve got some ideas for how to do all this, and I’m very excited about it.  I’ve got a couple of friends who are also planning to do some painting in their girls’ rooms this summer, too, so hopefully we can all team up to work together on everyone’s projects.  Many hands make light work, you know.  And I’ll need help, because while I’m good at dreaming up ideas, I have a lot of difficulty carrying them out.  However, sooner or later a new baby will likely make his/her appearance, and I’d like to have the older girls settled in their new room before that happens.  That knowledge seems like it will be enough impetus to get me actually going on this project.

If this all works out as planned, my girls will have their own, special room, and the nursery would be freed up to welcome a new little baby into our family, whenever that moment should arrive.  Can you tell I’ve got babies on the brain? 🙂

