a trip to the library

After getting the girls to bed last night, I managed to sneak over to our local library for about half an hour before it closed at 9pm.  I picked up a number of interesting books.  Here’s what I got:

Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon — I have a few girlfriends who practically swear by this book, so I thought I’d at least give it a look-through.  My first impression is that it’s a HUGE book!  It doesn’t seem to be laid out in a very reader-friendly way; the initial paragraphs have pages and pages of writing, with no bolding or italics or headings or anything like that; it is visually overwhelming.  So far all of the recipes involve at least one ingredient that I’ve either never heard of or that makes me go “Eww.”  In my skimming, I also noticed the author making lots of claims, but when I looked in the back to see her sources, none were listed.  Sooo, I’m not as excited to read this book as I expected to be.  But, I’m still hoping to find some good ideas for feeding my family healthier than I do now.  I read the bad reviews of this book on Amazon (whenever I look up a review, I always read the negative reviews.  Anyone can write a positive review, but I can tell when a negative reviewer really has a point as opposed to just wanting to vent.)  I’ve decided that if I’m going to go hog-wild on healthy food, I think I should read some other books, too, to round out my research.  I’m definitely considering a Michael Pollen book sometime in the near future…

Girlfriends who love this book, I’d love to hear what you’ve liked best about this book, and what you’ve found least helpful about it.  Thanks!

Quiverfull: Inside the Christian Patriarchy Movement by Kathryn Joyce — From skimming through this book, I can already tell this author is a liberal who is lumping all Christian conservatives together.  My husband looked up “Lutheran Church – Missouri Synod” in the index, and he found that the author consideres the LC-MS ultra conservative.  My husband wondered aloud, “What would this author say about the WELS?”  The author doesn’t seem to realize that there are many different types of “ultra conservative” Christians!  That said, I’ve heard some awful things about the Patriarchy movement, especially when it’s taken to the extreme (For example, did you hear about the death of Lydia Schatz, a young seven year old adopted girl whose parents strictly followed the parenting advice of Michael and Debi Pearl?  If not, check this out.  It’s an example of the Patriarchy’s parenting philosophy taken to the extreme.)  I also follow some blogs of people who subscribe to the Quiverfull philosophy, Vision Forum products, and other elements of the Patriarchy movement.  So, while I think this book will take a bit of an extreme viewpoint, I suspect it will still have some elements of truth in it.  I’m interested to read it, especially since it is only copyrighted 2009.

Julie & Julia: 365 Days, 524 Recipes, 1 Tiny Apartment Kitchen by Julie Powell — This is the book that the movie Julie & Julia, which came out last summer, was based on.  I’m sure it will be interesting, although, my word, does that author have a salty tongue!  I looked up this book on Amazon, too, read the negative reviews, found that others also noticed the author’s liberal use of four-letter words, and was surprised to hear many people say that the movie was much better.  I was already planning to watch the movie at some point, so I don’t feel like I have to slog through this book now.  We’ll see how much of the book I actually read.

Our Bodies, Ourselves: Pregnancy & Birth by the Boston Women’s Health Book Collective — This is a new pregnancy book for me, and I couldn’t resist checking it out.  So far, it looks pretty good.  It’s got a nice emphasis on natural pregnancy, natural childbirth, and breastfeeding.  I’m sure I won’t read it cover to cover, but I’ll certainly skim through it and see if it has anything new to say that I haven’t heard already.  (I doubt it.  ha ha!)

Ah, yes.  More books with which to distract myself and waste time rather than getting my work done… 😉

