death of a supermom

Since I’m at a loss for words these days, I’m going to direct you to a thought-provoking post titled “Death of a Supermom” written by Elizabeth Esther.  Here’s an excerpt from it:

I don’t know what happened between my mother’s generation and mine but I’d just like to say: I’m getting off this train. Because if I don’t, I’m gonna get run over.

Somewhere along the line–say early 90’s?–it wasn’t enough to just be a regular at-home mom. I’m not going to point fingers, but I knew something had drastically changed when I read a mom newsletter about being a Professional Mom. It was written by high-powered career women who’d decided to quit their jobs and bring all their corporate, organizational experience home.

Honestly, part of me really wishes they’d just kept their day jobs…

Read the entire post here.

