in planning mode

Now that the call decision is made, JJ and I have been able to turn our attention back to ministry here at our church as well as planning for our summer.  I decided to take the summer off from teaching my music classes, but the summer is rapidly filling up with other things to do.

Our summer is starting off with a trip to Phoenix for our church’s district convention.  Lyd is hugely anticipating this.  All her stories at school and most of her questions during the day are about What We Will Do In Phoenix.  With the driving time added in, that will take up one week of our summer.

When we return home, my parents are planning to fly out here for a week and a half.  It’s always nice to have them around for a while!

As soon as my parents leave, we take off again to drive up to Oregon.  We’ve never been further north than Redding, CA, so we’re going to see what there is to see north of that point.  We’re planning to see Crater Lake National Park, and whatever else we can manage along the way.  We’re going to go up as far as Portland, OR, and visit friends there.  That trip will also take up one week.

I’ve been talking for a while about how I’d like to get my postpartum doula training.  I found an opportunity to do that this summer: it would be every Thursday evening in July from 6-9pm.  I’m going to do it, and so our trip to Oregon has to work around those classes, since I don’t plan on missing any classes if I can help it.  I’m very excited to finally be getting some official doula training!

As far as summer classes for the girls go, I enrolled Lyd in an art class based on the movie “The Sound of Music.”  It’s a six week class that runs from 10-11:30 a.m. on Thursday mornings.  She is VERY excited about that class, too.  She used to have art classes with this teacher before she started Kindergarten, so it’ll be a nice chance for her to re-connect with this teacher as an older child.  I found a gynmastics class that runs at the same time and for the same number of weeks that would be just right for Jujubee, so I think I’m going to do that with her.  The gymnastics class runs from 10-10:45 on Thursday mornings, and if I can drop Lyd off a few minutes early, it should work out just right.  With my doula class on Thursday evenings, Thursdays will be our busy day this summer!

I don’t think I’m going to do swimming lessons with the girls.  I thought about it, but the way the sessions run, and with our schedule, we wouldn’t be around for the completely length of any of the two week sessions.  Plus, Lyd still doesn’t want to do it, so I think instead I’ll spend some time with her in the various hotel pools this summer and do some swimming lessons that way.

We’re heading to WI early in August again, like we do every summer, and while I was planning on flying back a week early with my girls to give us some extra time in WI, looking at the calendar dates made JJ and I realize that’s not really possible.  Since JJ is also the school principal for our little school, he needs to be back by mid-August to help get things ready, and I can’t leave until my doula classes are over in late July.  But, we should still be able to have a full two weeks in Wisconsin, and that will be nice.

Then school starts again, and the summer is over.  Wow.  It’s really shaping up to be a busy summer!  (And I didn’t even mention the various painting projects that I’d ideally like to get done around the house!)  It almost seems like too much, but I hope it will be okay.

