good to have the grandparents here

As I mentioned yesterday, my parents have arrived for a nine-day stay at our home.  We buy them airplane tickets out here once a year as their annual Christmas gift, and they usually come in the early summertime.

One of the best things about their being here is that while our bodies are on Pacific Time, their bodies are on Central Time.  So, when our girls wake up bright and early in the morning, my parents are already awake, and usually have been for quite some time.  So, they get the girls up and take them downstairs, leaving me and JJ undisturbed to continue to sleep in peace.

This … is so wonderful, and is truly worth the price of the tickets.  Frankly, having grandparents around to help with the girls is great.  It’s such a treat for all of us, and the girls especially love to have their grandparents play games with them, read them stories and walk with them outside.  (Although Jujubee seems to call them both “Grandpa.”  Hmm.  We’re going to have to work on that one.)

The other big difference with having my parents here is that I really have to plan my meals.  We all need to eat, and I (feel like I) can’t just throw things together when they’re here.  So, this afternoon I chose a bunch of meals, and then created a shopping list based on what I need to make those meals.  (Yes, I should have done this earlier, but I was sick.  Although, to be fair, I have always done meal planning the first day they’re here anyway.)  Armed with my list, Lyd and I went shopping this afternoon while Jujubee and the grandparents rested.  So, now the kitchen is well-stocked with ingredients for a variety of good meals.

Today we grilled hamburgers for lunch, and I baked a salmon fillet for supper.  For the rest of the week we’ll be eating:

  • Beef Stroganoff (Tuesday night)
  • Parmesan-Crusted Chicken Breasts (Wednesday night)
  • Marinated Grilled Steak (Thursday night)
  • (Friday night we’re gone)
  • Pulled Pork sandwiches in the slow cooker (Sat. night and probably Sunday lunch, too)

I also have ingredients for various lunches, such as taco salad, pasta w/sausage and broccoli, chicken soft tacos, egg salad sandwiches and more.  So, outside of needing to go to the store to get another loaf of bread or some more milk or eggs, I have pretty much everything I need.

I treat my guests well.  (hint, hint ;))

2 thoughts on “good to have the grandparents here

  1. Ha, ha – Josiah calls both my Mom and Dad “Grandpa” too, so hopefully it’s just a two year old thing! 😉

  2. I’m gonna need that parmesan-crusted chicken recipe – seeing as how there is no way I can make it there by Wednesday 🙂 Glad you are having a nice time, and can’t wait to see you in two weeks!

Comments are closed.