Dear John

On my flight from Milwaukee to San Francisco a few weeks ago, I had the opportunity to choose and watch an in-flight movie.  I was on a big Airbus jet, with TV screens on the back of every seat.  Each passenger could personally choose which of 20+ channels s/he wanted to watch, or they could choose to watch a movie (all for a small fee, of course).  I chose to watch the movie “Dear John,” based on the Nicholas Sparks novel of the same name.

While the sound wasn’t great as it was piped through the small earbuds into my ears, I thoroughly enjoyed the movie.  I cried big tears at the end, but tried to restrain myself for the sake of the poor guy sitting next to me.  🙂  Of course, I’m a sucker for a noble, tragic romance.  When I came home, I got the novel out of my library and eagerly read through it (skipping around from section to section, of course.  I rarely read a book in a linear manner.)  The book’s ending was better than the movie’s, which pleased me, because I thought the movie ended … oddly and abruptly.

I also have enjoyed watching the trailer for the movie on YouTube (watch it here), and I’m continuing to re-read parts of the book in stolen moments.  I love romance stories where the road to happiness is rocky, and this book – and movie – definitely fit the bill.

