ready to be surprised

Tonight I watched the movie “Dan in Real Life.”  It was a wonderful movie, funny and touching in a way that practically everyone can relate to.  My respect for Steve Carell as an actor has increased dramatically.

At the end of the movie, Carell’s character says this:

Life plans: We all make them.  If we’re honest with ourselves, most of the times our plans don’t work out as we had hoped.  Instead of asking our young people, “What are your plans?” maybe we should tell them this: “Plan to be surprised.”

I like that.  I need to remember that for myself.  Don’t focus on my plans, but prepare to be surprised.

You see, my plans are currently not going as I had, well, planned.  I am not pregnant.  My schedule for achieving this status is not working out as planned.  And I’m having a hard time imagining how things will work out “right” if my plans don’t work out..

In my better moments, I trust that everything is happening on God’s perfect schedule, as I once wrote about here.

In my worse moments … well, I don’t trust that God knows what he’s doing.

There are other, non-pregnancy related things in my life, things in my life that are also not quite going according to plan.  And, sadly, again my sinful nature keeps on doubting that God knows what he’s doing.

But all the difficulties that come into a Christian’s life are meant to drive us back to God and strengthen our faith.  My baptized self is grateful for that.

I have to keep remembering that in the end, it is God who decides when the right time to have a baby is.  I have to trust that God knows what he’s doing far better than I do, and I have to trust his timing.

I have to trust that whenever it happens, it will be right.  I need to relax, just let things happen, enjoy the moment, and be ready to be surprised.

Besides, both of my girls were surprises. 🙂  They were the best surprises I’ve ever had in my life.

I don’t know what God’s plan is for my future and for my family.  But I’m sure that whatever it will be, it won’t be what I’m expecting.  Yet I know it will be better than anything I can imagine.

God’s timing is always best.  And, in my life, his timing has practically always been a surprise!

I’m going to do my best to relax and enjoy the ride.

One thought on “ready to be surprised

  1. Good post. ” Love my uncerainty” says the Lord. Like the child who is clueless as to why her mother is missing the egg yolk and the tasteless flour with the water until the baked cake appears before her, we too are unaware of the grand scheme that the Lord envisages for each of us through small and little happenings in our life.

    Narayanan

Comments are closed.