loving my daughter

This past spring was a stressful time for JJ and I for many reasons, some of which I’ve talked about on this blog and other reasons which I’ve not mentioned.

I don’t know if it was all the stress in the house, or perhaps the school year winding down or what, but I didn’t always feel my usual overwhelming love for Lyd this past spring.  Sometimes, it was difficult for me to love her.  She got on my nerves, said and did more than a few things that I really didn’t like, and did some behaviors that perplexed me as to their cause.

But, I tried to keep that hidden from her as much as possible.  I hoped (and prayed!) that it was just a stage we were all going through.  I tried to be as consistent with her as I could, remembering that love is an action more than a feeling.  In the Bible, 1 Corinthians 13 is often used at weddings, when feelings of love are often at a peak.  But in reality, that chapter of the Bible is not about love feelings, it’s about love actions.

When things were difficult with Lyd, I tried to remember that love is an action, not a feeling.  So even when I didn’t feel loving, I did my best to show love to her.

Thankfully, things between Lyd and me have improved over the summer.  I think the stress of the spring was probably the cause of all this tension.  And, to be fair, all the stress in the house wasn’t Lyd’s fault.  This summer has been a pleasant break from the routine for all of us.  We haven’t been able to totally relax (at least, JJ and I haven’t), but it’s definitely been better.  All of our trips and house guests have been helpful with that.

And, to some degree, I think Lyd might have been going through some sort of phase, too.  For the most part, it seems to have passed.

The experience this spring was a good reminder that when times are difficult, everyone in a family feels it.  Stressful times require extra amounts of patience and actions of love from everyone in order to prevent a bad situation from escalating and becoming worse.  I’m glad that our family made it through that rough time with love and sense of humor intact. 🙂

