Wicked

JJ and I and the new Kindergarten teacher at our school went out last night (Sunday night) and saw the Broadway musical “Wicked” up in San Francisco at the Orpheum Theater.  It was a lot of fun!

We took the BART up into SF, which conveniently had a stop located right next to the Orpheum.  We came up out of the subway tunnel and it was right there!  Very cool.  And, now I know how to buy a ticket on the BART and how to use the machines, which is a useful skill for me to know.  After last week’s trip up to SF, I almost feel like I could easily get around using mass transit.

The show itself was pretty cool.  All I knew was that it was a story based on The Wizard of Oz.  It was different than I expected, but definitely very interesting.  As part of the “Wicked” storyline, it tells how the Wicked Witch of the West became “wicked,” and how the Good Witch of the North became “good.”  It explained how the monkeys got their wings, why the ruby red slippers were so important to the Wicked Witch of the West and why her skin was green, how the Tin Woodman came into existence, how the Scarecrow and Cowardly Lion came into existence, too, why the Munchkins hated the Wicked Witch of the East, and more.  There was even a love story in it!

And it had funny moments!  Oh, my, were some of the lines funny!  When Galinda sang the song “Popular,” it just about stole the show, especially when Galinda’s wand accidentally flew 30 feet up and landed in the side proscenium.  I’m almost positive that was NOT part of the show, because both the actors paused and looked a little surprised for a moment, and then Galinda did a bit of physical comedy by attempting to do the splits as a way of “distracting” the audience.  It was hilarious, and the whole crowd roared.  🙂

What I personally liked best about “Wicked” was the fact that both the leads were female, and both were sopranos.  How many Broadway shows can you think of where both the leads were female?  I’m no feminist, but I lean towards an idea of some kind of equality between the sexes, and there are plenty of shows where the cast is overwhelmingly male.  The main characters of this show were mostly female, and it was a good change of pace.

After playing here in San Francisco for over a year and a half, “Wicked” is finally ending its San Francisco run this coming Sunday evening (which was why I really wanted to go now).  It’s too bad I didn’t go earlier, because I definitely would want to see this show again.  Hopefully I’ll get another chance in the future.

After “Wicked” leaves, “West Side Story” is coming to the Orpheum for a month.  The music in that show is just phenomenal, and I’ve never seen it on stage before.  Hmm.  Now that JJ and I know an easy way to get to the Orpheum, maybe we’ll go again…

