doula training

Today (Thursday) was my first day of a three day intensive post-partum doula training.  It’s being conducted by Debbie Young, who was president of DONA (Doulas of North America) from 2007-2009.  Interestingly, she’s also a (Missouri Synod) Lutheran pastor’s wife, so we understand each other’s background quite well.

Besides housing Debbie and another lady, HeatherGail Lovejoy (who is also very involved in DONA), who is attending the workshop as a way to get to know the new doulas from this area and to assist Debbie in anything that comes up, I am also providing all the snack foods for the participants.

And the workshop is happening in my living room.  Did I mention that?  And it runs from 8:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. for three days in a row?  It was a LONG day today!

Thankfully, JJ is being very supportive of this training happening in our home.  He took both girls bowling after school today so that they would be out of the house and we ladies could work and talk in peace.  What a wonderful guy.  🙂

So, I’ve been super-busy this week with cleaning and planning.  The house looks great!  (Quick!  As soon as this workshop is done, everyone come visit!)  And, thanks to my local Farmer’s Market, I put on a pretty nice spread today.  I had a big tray loaded with fresh strawberries, blueberries, peaches, and raisin grapes (small, green, sweet, and very soft-skinned).  I made two loaves of zucchini bread.  I put out a big bowl of kettle corn (popped fresh at the Farmer’s Market – kettle corn has both salt and sugar on it.)  I bought a one pound bag of day-old biscotti and served that.  In the afternoon, I added fresh raw beans and baby carrots, parmesan and herb pita chips and hummus.  Yum!

Tonight I plan to get ready to make scones tomorrow morning.  I also have a big bag of lemons, and I might try to make up some fresh lemonade tonight.  It’s been quite hot here again, so I’m sure the lemonade would go over well.

There are five other ladies getting post-partum doula trained along with me.  Three of them have strong Irish accents.  I wish I could imitate that accent, as I think it is SO cool!

The training itself is quite interesting.  DONA defines the role of a doula more narrowly than I was expecting.  I’m still not sure exactly what I think about that.  I’m going to have to sit on that one for a while.  But overall, it’s great to be surrounded by people who love new moms and babies as much as I do.

I’m excited to actually be starting on the path to becoming a post-partum doula!

Day Two of the training will be tomorrow…

