29 and 19

Or, “I Wouldn’t Have Believed It if It Hadn’t Happened to Me.”

Not long after JJ and I married, I started charting my menstrual cycles, just as Toni Weschler says to do in her book “Taking Charge of Your Fertility.”  I photocopied a bunch of blank charts, and each cycle I used a new chart.  And, since the blank chart had a line for numbering each chart, I did.  It was fun to take my temperature every morning first thing when I woke up, and I enjoyed keeping the charts.  In fact, I still do keep charts like that, and still on paper, even though now there are computer programs where you could do it all online.

So, I kept charts and numbered each cycle as I went along.  Lyd was conceived on cycle #29.

After Lyd was born and my cycles resumed, I started charting again, but I began my count over from the beginning.  I conceived on cycle #19, but, sadly, that baby was lost in my first miscarriage.

I continued my count after that miscarriage, and did not start counting over.  Jujubee was conceived ten cycles later, on cycle #29.

After Jujubee was born and my cycles resumed, I started my count over again.  But this time I did it a little differently.  Since I nursed her a long time after she was born, I added an additional count simultaneously with the first one after I finally fully weaned her.  So my chart number had two numbers on it: the first number counted from when my cycles resumed after having the baby, and the second number counted from the time I stopped nursing.

Last winter, I had a very early miscarriage.  That cycle number, using the first count’s number, was cycle #19.

After the miscarriage, I resumed counting without starting over.  Last month, I had another very early miscarriage.  That cycle number, using the second count’s number, was, unbelievably, #19.

According to my first count’s number, cycle #29 is coming in the near future.

Isn’t that … freakyscaryoddweird … interesting?

And that is all I will say about that.

