learning to “talk the talk”

Despite my love of talking, I have found that I am still in the process of learning to be comfortable talking about my faith, both to my friends who are not Christians and to my friends who are.  I am definitely “not finished yet” in this department.

Obviously, learning to talk to unbelievers about Christ is important.  However, I’m starting to realize that it’s equally important to be able to comfortably talk with fellow believers about Christ, especially those believers who are newer Christians.  For too long I’ve been assuming that because someone says that they’re a Christian and/or they’re a member of a Lutheran church that their faith is strong.  As time has gone on, I’m realizing that that assumption may be, well, assuming too much.  It’s easy to forget that Satan works harder on Christians than on unbelievers.

Besides, what better circumstance is there to get practice in talking about one’s faith than to fellow believers?  They’re not likely to argue with you, and your words may be just the encouragement they need to hear.  And aren’t believers supposed to build each other up in the faith?  I’ve been trying to do that lately with the people in my life, although I have a long way to go before I can even begin to think that I might be good at it.  Hopefully God will give me lots more opportunities to practice – I need ’em!

On a related topic, I’ve been wondering lately about how much I can/should encourage members who rarely attend church to come more often.  While I regularly see certain members after school as they come to pick up their kids, I rarely see these same members in church.  I have very friendly relations with these parents on the playground, and I often feel like I should be saying something to them when I hear about their weekend plans, and those plans don’t include being in church on Sunday.  Should I say more things to these people about coming to church?  Am I overstepping my pastor’s wife bounds?  Or is that something that, as a Christian, I should be doing?

This all reminds me again of how tricky it can be to be the pastor’s wife.  It’s difficult to have really good friends in the church, because, as I’ve said before, you never know when that person will start attending church less often or develop some spiritual problem that your pastor-husband has to deal with in some way — and when that happens, your friendship suddenly shifts.  It’s not easy to strike a balance.  Plus, once you’ve been burned a few times, you become even less eager to venture into a new friendship with members.

Being a pastor’s wife and living in a pastor’s family is not easy.  We get plenty of situations that “normal” families don’t experience.  But, JJ and I have been blessed with a number of kind people in our church who find ways to make our lives easier, and I’m very grateful for those dear souls.  There are special crosses that a pastor’s family bears, but there are special benefits, too.  And one of those benefits is lots of opportunities to talk about your faith! 🙂

3 thoughts on “learning to “talk the talk”

  1. Me, I’m blunt with my church members. If I don’t say it, who will?

    Going camping this weekend? Sounds nice, but we’ll surely miss you at church.

    sigh If only it were that easy with family members…

  2. Just before my first baptismal birthday my husband of all of two months came home from his new job and said he thought he wanted to be a pastor. I thought “no you just hate your job and you miss church”. I encouraged him to get involved with church when he could, and bought him the Book of Concord for Christmas. Months later when he quit his job to start school I think this was my biggest concern. How was I, a new believer, going to be a pastor’s wife? I was still trying to figure out how I would raise little Lutherans, and now they were going to be PKs to boot!

    Our home Pastor is a wonderful teacher and a great theologian. I went to as many bible studies as I could in the first two years while my hubby worked on his bachelors. But I was working retail full time so that wasn’t as much as I would like. Our first child was born six months before we moved 2000 miles away to Seminary. Needless to say I was nervous to be amongst women who could walk the walk and talk the talk. I felt spiritually like my baby, I was just learning to crawl and babbling my faith. I went to every wives event I could. I was eager to learn as much as I could. The professors taught a Tuesday evening class for the wives, and the only one I missed those first two years was the day before our second child was born ( I made it the week after). The women I met became mentors, they taught me more than they will ever know.

    My 8th baptismal birthday is coming up, my husband was ordained two and a half months ago. Now I can spiritually walk, and my talking is mostly coherent, but I’m used to talking to other highly catechized conservative Lutherans. Witnessing is tricky business. How to speak the Truth with love, and without offending others to the point that their ears close is so hard. Now I get to learn to walk the tightrope. I know God will forgive me and put me back up there when I fall. I just hope others will echo that forgiveness and that I don’t make my husbands life any more difficult 😉

  3. It took me a long time to realize that my stepson’s mom is not a christian- she doesn’t know Jesus as her Savior. You would think it would have been obvious but she seemed to tell me things that made me think she had an ounce of faith, for example she would tell me and my stepson that she prays among other things. I just accepted the fact that she knew God but she had a weak faith but the truth is knowledge of God doesn’t equal saving faith. In her case, this appears to be true which reminds me that all Christians (those with strong or weak faith) need encouragement from other Christians, faith can easily weaken and die off when left untended. Blessings as you “Hark, the Voice of Jesus Calling.”

Comments are closed.