feeling better

A few weeks ago, I was experiencing a number of health woes.  Thankfully, I’m feeling a lot better now.

My bladder seems mostly healed.  I took antibiotics for 3 days, and then drank a lot of aloe juice/cranberry juice to finish the healing process.  I’ve now added a little homeopathy to finish off the healing, and I still feel the need to drink a glass of cranberry juice every day or so, but for the most part it’s much better.  I’ve even nibbled judiciously on a few sweets, and I haven’t noticed any big problems afterwards.  This is good, especially since the holidays are coming. 🙂  But I definitely need to keep drinking enough water!

After my miscarriage, I experienced a lot of tiredness and light-headedness.  When I told my acupuncturist, he started me on new herbs to build Qi and Blood.  Those herbs have been amazing — my light-headedness was gone in three days, and I now have more energy than I’ve had in a long time.  With all the extra work that comes with the holidays, it’s a good time of year to have more energy, and I’m thankful for that.

I’ve also been getting more sleep as well as more uninterrupted sleep, and that has been wonderful.  Up until recently, I hardly ever slept through the night, with many different factors causing me to wake up.  I’ve found some solutions to reduce/remove those factors, and it has really helped.  For the first weeks of my uninterrupted sleep, my dreams were vivid and wild and very much reflective of what was immediately happening in my life.  All of that crazy dreaming was probably a sign of how bad my sleep had been!  Now my dreams are calmer, less vivid (I hardly remember them now) and have taken on more obscure themes and topics.  I think that’s a good sign.

The only problem that I still have with my sleep is that I have some trouble falling asleep.  Thankfully, I’ve been off Valerian for a few months now, and when I need help falling asleep, I now rely on a gentle homeopathic bedtime spray.  It’s not physically addictive, but I feel that I’m a little mentally dependent on it.  However, if I stay up too late and get my second wind (which I often still do), it’s really, really hard to fall asleep.  The spray helps me calm down MUCH more rapidly than I would otherwise, and I know that right now, sleep is really important for me, so I opt for sleep.  I was very pleased that last week when I went to bed earlier before getting my second wind, I was able to fall asleep without the spray.  That was good for my psyche; I now know I’m not totally dependent on that spray to get to sleep.  It’s that second wind that keeps me awake!

I have been taking some vigorous walks 2 or 3 mornings a week with a friend.  Most mornings I break a solid sweat – just the fact that I have the energy to walk fast enough to break a sweat is amazing!  All of the hills that we walk up and down certainly help!  I always dread going out in the cold morning, but luckily we chatter away together (she talks as fast as I do!) and I’m always grateful to have done it once I get home.  I would never go walking like this on my own, so I’m very grateful that she comes with me; the fact that she shows up at my front door at 8:30 a.m. ready to walk is what makes me get up and go.

With the holidays coming, I have a lot to do, but I still want to continue getting good sleep.  I’m not sure how I’ll manage that yet, as my pattern is to stay up late the night before something big is happening and wear myself out getting everything done.  I don’t want to do that this year, but we’ll see.  Old patterns don’t change overnight, but my goal is to moderate the “staying up late before a big event” so that it’s not QUITE so late.

Plus, if I am ever to have any hope of getting pregnant, I’ve got to keep getting good sleep.  That’s a big (perhaps the biggest) motivator to get to bed, too.

