choir nostalgia

It was only within the last week that I broke out the “real” Christmas music at our house.

Up until then, it was all lighter Christmas music; you know, Jingle Bell Rock, Frosty the Snowman, Ultra-Lounge versions of the songs you hear on the radio.  I was listening to sacred Advent music, and a little bit of sacred choral Christmas music, but it wasn’t my high quality recordings.

But last weekend, I brought out the good stuff: the Robert Shaw chorale, the Dale Warland singers, Chanticleer, groups like that.  And of course my old WLC recordings.  And, boy, did that also bring on my nostalgia!  I miss singing in a good choir.  I really, really miss it.  However, I didn’t realize how much I missed it until I listen to these recordings and felt the music, and all the memories that went with them, wash over me.

I wouldn’t say I became depressed listening to those, but it reminded me of a time in my life that is over.  Perhaps I’ll have an opportunity to sing with a really good choir sometime in the future, but that won’t be anytime soon.  I was blessed to sing in really good choirs during my college years and the first two years I was here in California, and I have so many good memories of that time of my life.  College choir especially was SO much fun!

Today I watched WLC’s choir perform thanks to internet streaming of their concert.  If you’d like to watch it, you can click on this link.  I didn’t know very many of the songs, which made me feel old and even more disconnected from that stage of my life.  I remember being on that stage with that choir director and those decorations and on those risers.

Sigh.  But, I think it was Shakespeare who said, “‘Tis better to have loved and lost then to have never loved at all.”  I’m glad I had that time of my life, even though I miss it a lot now.  Oh, well.  I’ll just have to look forward to the heavenly choir someday!

