ice skating fun

Ever since the Olympics last winter, Lyd has wanted to take ice skating lessons.  I’ve hemmed and hawed, but in this last week of 2010, she is finally getting her wish.  We have an ice skating rink here in town, and the rink was offering a week of classes through our local Park & Recreation Department for the week between Christmas and New Years.  So, I signed Lyd up for one week of lessons, starting at 10:30 a.m. for half an hour.

The first day, Lyd had a rather difficult time.  It was her first time on the ice, and she fell … a lot.  She cried at least once, perhaps twice, and I could tell it was really difficult for her.  But, she persevered, and strangely enough, she told me that she liked it!  I thought for sure she wouldn’t want to go back the next day, but she did.  She looked forward to it the whole rest of the day.

The next day, she fell less, although she took one really hard fall and hit her head on the ice.  That brought forth the tears again, but after consoling her a bit off the ice, I encouraged her to try again – and to my amazement she did!  She ended the day with a smile on her face, and even stayed on the ice for a few minutes after her lesson was over so that she could practice during the free skate time.  Wow!

Today, while she was having her lesson, Jujubee and I got skates for ourselves, and we went over to the non-lesson half of the rink where there was free skating.  After not having been on an ice skating rink for about 15 years, I got on the ice and did NOT land on my rear end, although I did hang onto the wall a lot at first!  The fact that Jujubee was hanging onto my hand made it even more complicated, but together we found our footing.  Jujubee actually did quite well; if she can get over her fear of falling, I think she’ll do just fine.

As far as Lyd goes, today she did the best yet.  She wasn’t hanging onto the wall as much, she told me she hardly fell at all in class, and after class during the free skate time, she and a girl from her class held hands and actually skated around the ice together!  I was very, very impressed!

After all of this skating, Lyd says that she would like to take ice skating lessons this winter for her fun, outside-of-school class.  She’s done dance class, gymnastics class, and now she wants to try this.  Of course, Jujubee wants to try ice skating now, too.  The class times at the ice rink are not the most convenient for our family’s schedule, so I’m not sure how this will work.  But, I’m willing to give it a go.

I have to say, this is my tenth winter in northern California, and it’s weird to me to have to bundle up in layers and hats and gloves to go ice skating.  But it’s fun!

