on a roll

The beginning of a new year means one has to wrap up the paperwork of the previous year.  That’s what I’ve been doing in a big way the last few days (hence the lack of regular blogging).  I did a very poor job, especially in the second half of the year, of keeping up with receipts and tracking finances and all that stuff.  So, now that the new year has started and I have to get all that sort of stuff ready for taxes, I have a strong incentive to get that job done.  I’ve been working hard to finish that, and I’ve made a lot of progress.  I got the first phase of computer work done, and the next phase will involve spreading all the stuff out on the dining room table.  That’s next week’s goal.

Doing all this work always renews my efforts to keep on top of things better in this current year.  Each year I do a little better at keeping on top of finances, but there is always plenty of room for improvement.  My husband wondered if perhaps I need a better system of organizing all of these things, but I responded that any system will fail if I don’t use it!

I’ve been a bit sidelined, however, because my new music teaching session starts up this weekend.  None of the material was new for me, but it’s been a couple of years since I taught these various collections.  That required a bit of time, too.  Plus, I’ve re-started teaching the music classes at our small school this week, too, and that takes extra time.  All of my teaching is in the second half of the week, from Wednesday to Saturday, so most of my “free time” for my own projects is at the beginning of the week.  I always joke that for a pastor’s wife, Monday is the nicest day of the week. 🙂

The wheat-free cooking has gone well so far.  I made beef tips with mushrooms over wheat-free penne pasta on Tuesday night, and after we all ate it the first night, JJ ate it as leftovers for two more meals, while the girls and I ate up a pasta dish I had in the freezer.  I’ve been making big, hearty bowls of salads for JJ’s and my lunch, consisting of salad greens, spinach, avocado, tomatoes, sunflower seeds, walnuts, slivered almonds, shredded carrot, shredded cheese and tuna.  With a little raspberry-walnut vinagrette dressing on top, it’s quite delicious!  Tonight I made a ham casserole with cooked red potatoes and vegetables.  The sauce that held it all together was supposed to have flour as a thickener, but I just used arrowroot flour, and it worked fine.

Jujubee seems to be finally over her wretched, lingering stomach flu (and thankfully, none of the rest of us got it!), but ever since being sick she has a very short fuse before breaking down into tears.  The most minor event that doesn’t go her way sets her off into a paroxysm of weeping and despair.  I’m not quite sure what to make of this; I’m sure it’s somehow connected to her recent illness.  This is too huge of a behavior change for it to just be a “stage” she’s going through.  I gave her a dose of her homeopathic constitutional remedy this morning; hopefully that will make a difference in a few days.  If not, I may have to talk to our homeopath about a different constitutional for her.  But, hopefully, as she continues to gain her strength back after being sick, this tantruming will go away, too.

The new year is off to a busy start; I hope it doesn’t get too crazy, and I hope I can keep up with all of my new year’s resolutions!

