giving up the nuk

nukker = nuk, pacifier, binky, plug, dummy

Jujubee still uses a nukker at night.  She is 3 years and almost 4 months old, and she still uses a nukker to get to sleep.

I’m not sure what, if anything, to do about this.

It’s not a big problem, except … when she is deeply asleep, her nukker often falls out of her mouth.  If, when she moves through a lighter sleep state, she wants the nukker again and can’t find it, she will cry until I come and remedy the situation by giving her another nukker.  Sometimes when I check on her after she’s fallen asleep, I will take the nukker out of her mouth and set it next to her on the pillow.  I want her to get used to sleeping without a nukker in her mouth, but I know that she will probably need it at some point in the middle of the night.

Sometimes her nukker falls onto the floor without any of us realizing it, and so when she wakes up at night trying to find her nukker and can’t find it, it inevitably wakes me up, too.  This is one of the reasons I don’t always get an uninterrupted night’s sleep, which I desperately need.

When Lyd was this age and I was trying to get pregnant with #2, I may have still been going to bed too late, but the sleep I got was uninterrupted sleep.  Lyd got over her dependence on the nukker somewhere between 18-24 months.  So, when she was young I almost always got solid sleep.  But interrupted sleep is very different.

I’d really like Jujubee to be able to sleep without a nukker, but unfortunately she really can’t.  It’s going to have to be her decision as to when she no longer needs the nukker to sleep.  She is completely potty-trained, so I know she has the mental capacity to make that decision.  I’m not sure how this will work out, but I hope it does.

The only good thing about this situation is that she doesn’t try to use a nukker at non-sleep times.  That’s good.  I don’t want a child who is walking around with a nukker in their mouth all of the time.  But, somehow we’ve got to figure out a way to drop this nighttime nukker business.

Anyone have any ideas?

5 thoughts on “giving up the nuk

  1. If you think it is a power struggle (tho likely not, judging by your description of the usage) you could try a chart. Just started one with Rocky due to her ever-increasing “No, mama, you do it” refrain on several things she’s known how to do for ages. If it is just plain habit, it’ll be harder to break 😦

  2. Your much better then I am. My daughter was 2 1/2 and still had her Binky at night. She too would loose it, and dry for it, and I would come stumbling in and dig around in the dark till we found one. Oh and I had a six month old who would get up once or twice a night. One night I couldn’t find it and told her they were gone. I knew there were three behind her bed but I told her I couldn’t find them and that she had to go with out.

    The next day I told her she could have a baby cheetah doll she wanted if she went all week with out a binky. Baby cheetah needed a mommy to take care of her, baby needed a BIG girl, and big girls don’t use binkys. Well it was a long couple of nights but we made it and were binky free and a baby cheetah richer by the end of the week. (luckily my six month old never had any use for binkys so there wasn’t any jealousy issues)

    Not really the best way to handle it, but mommy was at her breaking point!

  3. We recently started to keep N’s extra pacis in a bucket that she can reach from her crib. If she wakes up at night and feels that she needs another one, she knows right where to find them. I have even heard her in the mornings getting a new one and then falling back asleep for a little while.

  4. We talked up giving Hannah’s pacifiers to Santa to take to another baby that needed them for at least a month before Christmas. Then Christmas week, we decorated a box for her to put the pacifiers in and told her she would get a present in return. I know the Santa plan will not work for you (on multiple levels!) but maybe just start talking up how another baby needs her nukker and eventually prepare to send them away in a fancy box.

  5. Kyra is 3 1/2 and is still very much addicted to her nuky. She’s like a smoker that takes one last puff before they enter a building. We’ll catch her under her bed taking a last “suck” before going to school! So, don’t feel bad about it. As for the nuky falling out at night…since Jada and Kyra sleep together at night…Jada in her sleep will shove it in Kyra’s mouth! 😉 It’s one of those things that I KNOW I should wean her…but…

Comments are closed.