okay on my own

I used to dread the times when my husband would be gone on trips, and I would struggle with an increased level of anxiety while he was gone.  It was not easy for me to play “single mom.”

Now things are different.  Maybe I’m just more experienced at playing “single mom,” maybe my kids are older so it’s less of an ordeal when he’s gone, maybe it’s that I’ve finally (woo-hoo!) got my anxiety issues under control, or maybe it’s that I realize the other kinds of funs that can only be had while he’s gone — but I don’t dread his trips anymore.  I’m always glad when he comes home, but I’m fine when he’s gone, too.

One of my favorite things to do when he’s gone is to have a “girls’ night.”  My daughters and I have done that in the past, although we didn’t get time to do that last night.  The other favorite thing to do is to have another woman over and have lots of girly conversations.  That we did do last night, and it was a lot of fun for all of us.  🙂

And, on a personal note, I was very proud of myself for not staying up extra late to watch a movie.  Instead, I actually went to bed a bit early and got a wonderful night’s sleep.  Yay me!

It’s no longer a problem when JJ is gone, but it’s always nice to have him back home and have our family together again.  🙂

