open season

Apparently I’m not the only one with a crush on Aaron Rodgers.  I had 20 hits on my blog today from people using the search terms “is Aaron Rodgers married” who found my post about my Aaron Rodgers dreams.  Ha ha!  That made me smile.

My friend KT picked up on the fact that there may have been something else going on in my second Aaron Rodgers dream.  KT wrote in a comment:

Football in a dream represents success, achievement, winning. I believe there are some events in your life right now that are equally as frustrating as some lady not giving you a jersey, in order to get an autograph, etc in proper succession. Am I right??? So, as usual, even very unusual dreams have usual meanings. It’s just that your subconscious takes bits and pieces of things that are currently on your mind and turns them into crazy dreams like this one.

Right you are, KT.

You see, it’s Call season again, or as my cousin called it, “open season.”  In our church body, the Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod, the majority of pastor Calls (and teacher Calls) happen in the first half of a new calendar year.  Last spring my husband got a Call back to Wisconsin.  Deliberating that Call proved to be quite the emotional roller-coaster, but in the end my husband chose to remain where he was here in northern California.  As time has gone on, he’s become absolutely convinced that he made the correct decision.

However, Call season is coming on again.  Six months have passed since JJ had his last Call, so he’s eligible for one again.  And there are plenty of pastor Calls floating around right now.

I can’t help but wonder if another Call is coming for us, although I’m not entirely sure I want one.  So far, I’ve upheld my resolution to not actually look at the Call reports online.  I don’t mind hearing what is on the Call report, but I don’t want to look at it with my own eyes because then I’ll obsess.  I don’t mind staying, in fact, I would LOVE to stay here in northern California!  But in some ways I wouldn’t mind leaving, either, although there’s so much I would miss about leaving here.

For me, it’s hard not to know what the future holds.  Is JJ going to get/take a call?  Am I going to get pregnant?  Should I commit to teaching more classes?  Should I get more training for childbirth-related stuff?  Should I do any other myriad of choices that I don’t know how to decide about?  Some of these decisions hinge on the other decisions, which makes KT’s analysis of my dream seem spot-on.

I’ve said it before and I’m sure I’ll say it again; I am reminded of the phrase from the song:

We don’t know what tomorrow holds,
But we know who holds tomorrow.

And also, of course, “Be still and know that I am God.”

It’s all going to work out just fine.  Just live today, because it’s the only day I can live.  Don’t worry about tomorrow.

We’ll just have to wait and see what happens!

