distracting myself

Well, apparently everyone wants to read a person’s whining about being infertile: I got more hits on my “desperate prayer” post than anything else I’ve written in a long time.  Except for my “boobs” post.  😉  That was pretty popular.  Of course, it helped that I sent the link to that post to practically everyone I knew on Facebook with whom I felt comfortable reading my blog.  (Some people I’m not.) But my “desperate prayer” post got a ton of hits with no promotion whatsoever on my part.  Hmm.

So, to all of those fellow desperately infertile people who found my blog and understand how I’m feeling (Or to all of those people who thought, “Hey, check out this crazy infertile gal’s post – thank God that’s not ME!”) um, Hi.  🙂  Welcome to my corner of the blogosphere.

However, an infertile gal can’t just sit around all day and cry and moan about how infertile she is.  I mean, she CAN do that, but she accomplishes a vast amount of nothing, and it gives her a lingering vague headache (not that I know this from experience or anything…) and a sense that there must be more to life than this.  She’s got to get out and DO something to distract herself.

So, despite how much I did not want to do anything but feel miserable, since writing my “I hate being infertile!” post, I did manage to teach a few music classes, cook some food for my family, answer biology-of-reproduction questions from my seven-year-old (ie. “What make a new baby a boy baby or a girl baby?” “The sperm decide that, dear.  There are boy sperm and girl sperm.”  “WHAT??  HOW??”)

(Oh, yes, we’re big into the specifics of how babies are made at our house these days.  We are way beyond your average 7 year old’s questions.  Heck, we’re way beyond where most high schoolers get as far as actual biology goes.  That’s probably due to the copy of A Child Is Born that I picked up at my local Borders bookstore’s Going-Out-Of-Business sale.  Lyd LOVES that book.  The detailed pictures fascinate her.  Seriously, this kid is destining herself to become a midwife.  She’d be a darn good one, too.  I would be so proud!  Childhood indoctrination pays off!)

Umm… Where was I?

Oh, yes.  I was distracting myself from my infertility by action.  Of course, answering questions about How Babies Are Made does not quite achieve that goal, but strangely, answering those kinds of questions doesn’t bother me from the infertility perspective.  (Well, it doesn’t bother me much.)  I’m glad that Lyd asks so many questions.  She’s a smart cookie.  She already knows everything now, which (I hope!) will make it SO much easier to talk about all of this kind of stuff once she is walloped by the hormones of puberty.  She’s still confused by the Why of it all (Why would mommies and daddies DO that?), but she gets that It happens.  A very solid foundation of information has been laid, and I think the lines of communication between her and me will be able to stay wide open; I think we’ll be okay.

Anyway, what was I talking about?  Oh yeah, distracting myself!  Hah, apparently blogging works well!

What I really wanted to say with this post is that today was a wonderfully distracting day.  It was Transfiguration Day in church, which means Big, Bombastic Hymns, and I was the organist, so that was fun.  Nothing like playing the hymn tunes “Picardy” and “Deo Gracias” with lots of stops pulled out!  Good stuff.

Then in the afternoon, it was the first day of our church’s new bowling league that my husband created.  (He loves to bowl, so this idea was his little brain child.)  Since it was our first time doing league bowling, it took a while to get us all settled and situated and divided into teams, but once we got going, it was a ton of fun and a barrel of laughs.  I don’t quite know how I did it, but I bowled my best game ever today – a 171!!!  One Seventy One!  So awesome!  It made that quarter of bowling lessons that I took during my senior year of high school completely pay off, especially since I totally beat my husband.  🙂  He usually beats me when we go bowling, but today I far and away beat him.  JJ came up to me once and playfully yelled, “Who are you, and what have you done with my wife?”  It was pretty awesome.

After we were done bowling, we went out to eat at Fresh Choice with some friends of ours who have kids the same ages as ours.  Fresh Choice is an awesome restaurant; it’s an all-you-can-eat buffet, but everything is healthy and fresh.  Most of the place is a ginormous salad bar, with everything you could ever possibly want on a salad.  Once you get through the mondo-huge salad bar, there is also five different kinds of soups, muffins, pizza, a bit of pasta and sauce, baked potatoes with fixings, fresh fruit, brownies, and an ice cream machine.  It’s great for families, and we love it!  So, we all ate supper there tonight, we all ate well, and we moms didn’t have to cook or clean up.  Score!

Between bowling and Fresh Choice, we made a quick stop at our local Borders bookstore, which is in the process of going out of business.  I had $10 in Borders Bucks to use up, so after perusing the store a bit, I bought myself a copy of the movie “Becoming Jane.”  I loved that movie when I first saw it, and I know it will be one that I will watch again and again.  In fact, most movies that I watch again and again are Jane Austen movies.  Or Audrey Hepburn movies.  Or Julie Andrews.  Or “Anne of Green Gables.”  That’s pretty much what I like.  (And for those of you who were keeping track, I purchased A Child Is Born back when Borders was first starting to close down a few weeks ago.  There are still a few more things I would like to get at Borders, but I’m going to wait for them to drop their prices a bit more, and then I’ll hopefully be able to get the few more things I want.)

So, I feel pretty good today.  I had a good day with friends, awesome bowling where my teammates were clapping and cheering for me (Do you know how long it’s been since adults clapped and cheered for me for any reason?), got a new favorite movie, and had a wonderful meal with family and friends where I didn’t have to do anything except eat.

I may not be pregnant, but I’m certainly feeling better about where I’m at.  I am grateful for that.

———-

And, in all seriousness, thank you to those who have prayed for me over the past days.  I really appreciate it.  Your prayers have helped.  Thanks.  🙂

