active remembrance

Today marks two years since my Grandma Violet entered heaven.  Wow.  Time surely does fly.

BUT!  Rather than having another sad anniversary post (which I know Grandma wouldn’t want), I am remembering her by trying to be super-productive today.

Because my Grandma knew how to work.  How to work quickly.  She got things done.  She didn’t waste her energy or over-think things, she just did it.  And, unsurprisingly, she got a LOT done!

I admire her for that.  Especially for not over-thinking things.  Because those of you who know me know that I don’t over-think AT ALL.  😉

Two and a half years ago, I blogged about one of my last conversations with her:

[Grandma] told me something, too, something that doesn’t sound like much, but when you consider what her life has been and how many huge difficulties she has (cheerfully) dealt with, it’s amazing. She told me, “Don’t worry so much, Emily. Just let things flow.” This from a woman who had to take care of an invalid husband for 15 years, run a dairy farm more or less on her own, and who has been busy and active her entire life. If anyone had a reason to be worried and stressed out, it was her. Perhaps she spent some of those early years worried and stressed out, too, but the fact is that now, she’s facing the final chapter of her life worry-free.

So, I’m really going to try to not worry. Well, actually, I’m going to remember Grandma, and with her and her life’s example in my mind, I’m going to try to not worry. Thinking along those lines, I realized that I’m grateful that J is sick, as it gave me a chance I would not have had otherwise to talk with Grandma alone, and to receive her words of wisdom. There really is a silver lining in every cloud, and I don’t need to worry about anything. God truly does have it all under control.

Two years later, as I face the huge (and ever-growing) list of things that need to get done before we can move, as I wait for the right house will come on the market for us (it hasn’t yet, and our number one choice just sold – darn!), as I look at all the changes to come in the next few months and wonder, “How will this be?” — I’m trying to follow Grandma’s advice.

“Don’t worry so much, Emily.  Just let things flow.”

That’s how my Grandma lived.  And that’s how I’m going to attempt to actively remember her today (and every day for the next four months!!!)

