love, laughter, and joy

Despite being still SO tired (I was up with Jujubee from 2-4 a.m. last night), I was reminded today of how I wouldn’t give my little girl up for anything.  If having her means I have to deal with less-than-ideal amounts of sleep for a while, I’ll take it.

Because I do love my girl.  I love that girl so much.

She has a lot of my personality and spunkiness, with a good dose of my husband’s sense of humor thrown in.  She is funny – and she knows it.  She routinely cracks the rest of us up at the dinner table.  Her laugh is infectious, and her ability to substitute words in for other words in songs (something she learned from Music Together) is limitless.

In a recent Kids Sing class, we sang “If You’re Happy and You Know It…” with each child naming something they do when they’re happy, and then we all sang about it.  When it was Jujubee’s turn, she thought for a moment and then said, “Do a somersault!”  In 7 years of teaching Kids Sing classes, that was the first time I’ve had a student come up with that substitution!  And her fellow students loved it!

Tonight at supper, she started singing “C is for Cookie” (which we haven’t sung in months – how did she remember that?) except she changed it to “P is for Pepper.”  Pepper is the name of our cat.  She did it in such a cute way, and then, with a twinkle in her eye, she confused something about the song on purpose.  JJ and I couldn’t help but laugh at her; as she laughed back at us in triumph.

A few nights ago, JJ got the girls singing the song “Feelin’ So Fly Like a Cheesehead,” and it didn’t take long for Jujubee to start substituting other things, such as “feelin’ so fly like a plate,” or “feeling so fly like an apple,” or whatever else her eyes fell upon.  Some of them turned out pretty funny, too.

And when she soberly announces to me or my husband, “I have a problem!” (or as she pronounces it, “I have a pwobum!”) it’s often hard to take her just as seriously as she is taking herself.

She has always been, and continues to be, a good sport about being sick, although she doesn’t like being sick.  Hopefully this time we’re going to get rid of the crud in her lungs for good.  More on that tomorrow.

She also is very able to entertain herself for long stretches of time.  She’s starting to move into the realm of imaginary play, and now rather than just paging through books or playing in other ways, I hear her making up stories with dolls/Barbies/whatever is close at hand.  It’s pretty neat.

We stopped at Trader Joe’s today, and she was happy to get a child-sized cart to push around the store.  She did a great job with it, and as we checked out and her cart was unloaded, she walked on her own about 30 feet away to put her cart back all by herself.  I could and did watch her the whole way, as did the lady behind me in line.  She remarked positively on Jujubee’s behavior, and I confess to experiencing a bit of Mommy Pride in my little girl.

It’s too bad that Jujubee has recurrent health issues like she does, but her cheerfulness, helpfulness and general happiness haven’t been dampened by the experience.  She continues to be a huge blessing to each member of this family, spreading love, laughter and joy wherever she goes.

I’m so thankful for my little girl.

