getting stuff done

It’s comforting and frustrating to know that I DO have the ability to buckle down and get projects done when necessary, but to also realize how often I choose not to do that.  Sigh.  Do I blame the sinful nature, lack of structure, personality, or something else?  I don’t know, but it’s something to continue working to be better at.

I was pondering that a bit today as I raced around getting our house ready for company.  The dining room table, which for months had been the workspace for taxes, girls’ art projects, and my husbands makeshift home office is finally absolutely clear.  A lone placemat sits in the middle of the table.  It’s quite amazing.

The rest of the downstairs of the house is quite picked up, too.  The last time it looked this nice was when we were hosting our Christmas part for the church.  It’s kind of nice to have it in almost-pristine condition like this.

I’m going to have a lot more big projects coming up in the next weeks as we get ready to move.  I am not looking forward to all the work: sorting, discarding, selling, packing.  But, hopefully, in the end, it will enable us to have a fresh start in a less-clutter-filled new home.

I’m glad to have been reminded this weekend that I DO still have the ability to make that kind of project happen.  I was beginning to doubt myself.  I just have to have a reason, or a deadline, to make it happen.

