how we found our house – part 3

(Read part 1 of the story here.)
(Read part 2 of the story here.)

We decided on the ND house.  It’s smaller than the YW house, but only by 90 square feet.  However, it has a much, much bigger yard, and there is room to expand the ND house.  If we had wanted to make the YW house bigger, there would have been no way to do that.  Plus, the ND house is completely brand new with re-done kitchens and bathrooms and a re-tiled fireplace, new carpeting, new paint inside and outside the house, new garage door, new driveway (!), new sod in the front yard and the (huge!) backyard, new doors in the house, new front door, new windows, new tile kitchen floors and bathroom floors, re-finished hardwood floor in the living areas.  It’s a very high-quality flip.  We couldn’t pass that up!

My biggest disappointment with the ND house is that I don’t like the color schemes that they put in the house.  The kitchen counters and bathroom counters all dark granite with brown and gold flecks in them.  The tiles on the floor and around the tubs and shower in the bathrooms and the backsplash in the kitchen are brown with gold in it.  It’s a really dark color scheme to me.  But, it’s all brand new!  I guess I’m going to have to find ways to infuse brighter colors into those rooms.  My realtor said she’d help me.  🙂

I’m also still a bit concerned that the house will be a tight fit for us.  Our current home is about 2500 square feet; our new house is 1644 square feet.  That’s a big drop in living space!  And we won’t have a basement or an attic!  However, we’ll have a two car garage but only one car to put in it, so we’ll have some storage space there.  The laundry is also located in the garage; I had hoped to get a house with a laundry area inside.  But, it’s very typical in California to have one’s laundry in the garage.  One of my first goals with the house is to create some sort of laundry area in the garage with cabinets/cupboards.

However, we have a house, and that is a very good thing.  It’s six houses down from the senior pastor at the church, which will be nice on Sunday mornings; hopefully JJ and the senior pastor can carpool.  But if not, it’s okay, because we’re located 0.9 miles from the church & school.  I’ll be able to walk to school to pick up the girls, and JJ will be able to bike to church.  With gas prices going the direction that they are, this will be a big cost savings!

Escrow should take about 30 days to complete, and my parents arrive at the end of May, so if all goes according to schedule, we should be able to show them our new house.  In fact, they’ll probably be able to help us paint the bedrooms!  🙂

I’m getting more used to the idea that this is going to be our new house.  It took me a bit at first.  I had always hoped that Something Better would come along.  But, at the same time, I don’t think it would be smart to let this house get away while waiting for that Something Better to come along, because it might not come.  And this house is still Pretty Darn Good.  The backyard is amazing.  🙂  The girls are going to love that!  And maybe, slowly, in the future we can change out some of the dark countertops in the kitchen and/or bathrooms.  We’ll just see.  My parents convinced me to live with things as they are for at least a year, and then see if I want to change it.  Perhaps I’ll even learn to like it!  My dad said he went to Menard’s to look at countertops (after I complained about not liking the countertops), and he found that most of the counters these days are dark granite like ours.  So, I guess it’s fashionable to have those types of counters today.  Who knows?  This may turn out to be the most up-to-date home I will ever own!  🙂

And I truly do love our house’s huge backyard of lush green grass, as well as the rose bushes that are already planted!  I’m looking forward to living in a place where I can plant rose bushes and the roaming deer won’t eat them.  🙂  I startled a buck in our driveway the other night when I was taking a few more things out to our recycling bins.  I’m ready to be done with deer eating my flowers!  And now I can finally plant a real garden – in the ground!  It’s very exciting to look forward to.  🙂

I almost forgot to mention – this house has a firepit in the backyard.  🙂  I’m very excited about that, too.

One thought on “how we found our house – part 3

  1. Hi,
    Congratulations on being “homeowners”. Funny feeling right? But it also must feel really good. Your house sounds and looks wonderful. Do you remember Bob and Becky’s house? The counters are all black granite. They love them. It is “The” look today!
    Take care and take it easy.

Comments are closed.