Hello!

Greetings!  I have returned to the world of blogging, awash with stories to tell of my very out-of-the-ordinary summer. 🙂

After three weeks in Wisconsin and Minnesota, we have returned safely home to our new house in the greater Sacramento area.  There are still lots of boxes to unpack and plenty of things to do, but we’re back home.  It is SO nice for all of us to be sleeping on our own mattresses again!  JJ and I especially love our mattress.  Despite all the stress that occured in the days preceeding our move, once we actually go to our new house, I started sleeping a lot better.  I don’t know what it is about this house, but I sleep SO well here.  I dream like crazy, which I think is a good sign that my brain is finally having a chance to clear out all of the junk that’s been piling up.  And, for two months now, I haven’t felt the need to take any kind of herbal or homeopathic sleep aid.  I’m sleeping on my own, and I’m so glad.

Speaking of sleeping, one thing I’ve discovered that I like about my new house is that at certain times of the moon’s cycle, I can see the moon shining in through my bedroom window.  I have always loved the feeling of having the moon shine down on me when I sleep.  In our old house, when JJ was particularly snore-y, I would escape to the bed in the guest bedroom.  That bed was located under a window that faced southerly, so I would often open the blinds and enjoy the moon shining down on me as I went to sleep.  For some reason, I love the moon, and I’m delighted to find that my new bedroom has a lovely moon view.

The girls are sleeping well here at home, too.  They chose to share a bedroom in our new house, and as Jujubee graduated to a regular bed this spring, we had to buy a twin mattress for her.  We bought her a brand-new mattress; with her breathing problems, we didn’t want to buy a used mattress that we didn’t know where it had been.  We got her a super-comfy plush mattress at our local Sleep Train, and I’m so glad we did.  However, Lyd became a little envious with the arrival of her little sister’s new mattress, so she managed to convince her little sister that they should take turns sleeping on the new mattress.  🙂  Luckily, Jujubee is pretty accomodating, so they’re both happy.

And, I’m pleased to report that my girls are sleeping in a bedroom painted pink and purple!  At long last, I finally made good on my promise to give the girls a girly room.  My adopted sister, AM, and I painted the room pink and purple back in early July.  The north/south walls are purple, and the east/west walls are pink.  It was a bit tricky, but it turned out really cute.  The girls love it, and their white wicker headboards and furniture look great.  Too bad the carpeting is the same beigey-brown that’s in all of the bedrooms, but their girly flowery throw rug helps make it less bland.

Our poor cat, Pepper, was left alone in the house for the three weeks we were gone, with nothing except a non-cat lover coming over once a day to give her food and water and change the litter box.  I was a bit afraid that Pepper would be mad at us for leaving her alone for so long, but she seems to be absolutely delighted that we’re home.  She is more affectionate than she was before, wanting to sit on our laps all the time and following us around like a puppy dog.  This morning, I woke up to find her sleeping at the bottom of JJ’s and my bed, next to my ankle.  She’s so glad we’re back!

I have more things to talk about, big and small, and I am happy to be returning to blogging again.  I decided to change up my blog’s look a bit; it was time for a change.  I won’t be blogging every day, but I plan to post things at least three times a week.  We’ll see how it goes.  Life is pretty different here; I’m not sure how it will all work out or what my place will be in our new church.  For now, I don’t have a job.  My plans for the fall are to get the house organized; we’ll see what the Lord has in store for me after that.

I hope you had a good summer, too!

2 thoughts on “Hello!

Comments are closed.