favorite books

I finally tackled the boxes of books that have been stacked up in a corner of our family room ever since we moved.  We don’t have space to unpack all of the books, and I’m not sure that I even want to unpack as many as we could.  But, there were certain books that I wanted to unpack.

I unpacked all of the children’s books.  I want my kids to have access to lots of good reading material.  Now that their books have all resurfaced, the girls are LOVING it!  Lyd can read better and better all the time, so she’s happy as a clam.  Jujubee loves to look at books, and will sit quietly with a book for half an hour on end, slowly turning the pages and looking at the pictures.  I’m glad my girls enjoy books so much!

As for me, I had to decide which of my books to bring out.  After deciding on certain non-fiction titles that I wanted easily accessible, I decided on what fiction I wanted to have out.  Here are a few of my choices of series:

  • the Little House on the Prairie series
  • the Anne of Green Gables series
  • the Betsy-Tacy series

I did NOT choose to get out my Harry Potter series.  I like them, but they’re big and bulky hardcovers, so I decided to keep them packed away.

In other books that I love, I brought out:

  • Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Emma, and Persuasion
  • Jane Eyre – and my new book of Wide Sargasso Sea
  • Gone With the Wind
  • The Thorn Birds
  • The Time Traveler’s Wife
  • Posession by A.S. Byatt
  • The Kite Runner (haven’t read it yet)
  • The Girls from Ames (haven’t read it yet)

I have LOTS of books, and I could easily bring out a lot more, but I chose to leave them packed away for now.  Why leave them packed away?  Well, various reasons.  Mainly because our new house is half the size of the old house, and I don’t want it to feel more filled with stuff than it already does.  It won’t hurt the books to live in the garage for a while, and when they do finally come out again, it will be like Christmas and birthdays all wrapped up into one.  And, if need me, I can always bring them out sometime in the future.

With that in mind, I labeled the boxes of books in the garage a little more specifically.  If, by the grace of God, I ever do get pregnant, the box with the pregnancy and childbirth books is clearly labeled.  If I do decide that I want to re-read the Harry Potter books (and they’re good books!), I know what box they’re in.  If I ever want to pull out my old Janette Oke books (I had a hard time deciding whether or not to unpack her Love Comes Softly series), I know where they are.

It was nice to find these old friends waiting for me in boxes.  I’m looking forward to having them readily available to me once again.

