heat, glorious heat

Over the past few days, the weather here has changed from 80’s and sunny to 60’s and rainy/windy.  So, for the first time since we moved into our new house, we turned on our heater.  It works great, which was a relief.  🙂

But more than that, it is such a delight to have a warm house!  When the heater turns on, the whole house gets warm!  It’s lovely!  After living for ten years in a house that NEVER GOT WARM all year, and got even less than warm in the winter, this is amazing!  Despite the colder weather, I’m still warm in my house!  It’s unbelievable.  🙂

On top of all of this, we have a (we are told that it’s) working fireplace right in the middle of our living areas.  It’s a double-sided fireplace, opening to our living and family rooms.  Maybe we can even have a fire in the fireplace this winter, and I bet that will help keep our house warm, too!  I can already picture sitting by the fireplace in the evening.  Maybe I’ll finally dig out my old crocheting or cross-stitching projects to work out.  That seems like what one would do in front of a fire in one’s own house.  It’s so exciting to imagine the possibilities!

I loved living in our old house for many reasons, but my biggest reason for NOT liking that house was that it was cold all. the. time.  Even on hot summer days, it was still cold (except for upstairs where the bedrooms were).  But our new house is warm!  Wonderful!

Can you tell I’m excited about this?  🙂

