an answer to a prayer

I’ve been wondering what to do with my life.  Life is very different from what it used to be.  Things aren’t completely settled in the new house yet, but they’re getting more so all the time, and I can see the end in sight.  Or at least, I can see things getting to the point where they’re as good as they’re going to get.

So, what now?  What do I do?  Both kids are in school, albeit Jujubee is just mornings, but what do I do now?  I can tell I’m starting to get restless and bored being at home.  I’m not doing the things around the house that I could be doing, as I don’t have any real impetus or reason to do them, outside of them needing to be done at some point.

And, I’m not pregnant.  Sigh.  That would help shape my future path, wouldn’t it?

In thinking about this, I came up with four options.  I could…

  1. Do something with teaching Music Together, either by working for another center or starting my own franchise.  This is probably what I’m most equipped to do.
  2. Finish off my doula training, either birth or post-partum (or both!) and start my own business.
  3. Do something more advanced with music, like go back to school for a choral music degree or a choral composition degree.  I don’t even know if there are opportunities for that around here, but it would be something to investigate.
  4. Get involved somehow in women’s ministry in our church body.  I don’t know if this is even close to being an option, but it’s something in which I have developed an interest.  I think this is an option that if the Lord wants me to do it, he’s going to to have to clear a path for me where none currently exists.

What now?  What do I do?

My devotional life is not always what it should be, but the other night, I was able to spend a good half an hour reading my Lutheran Study Bible (John 6-7) and praying.  One of my prayers was that God would give me guidance as to what to do next with my life.

Wouldn’t you know it – tonight I got the beginnings of an answer!

The nearest Music Together franchise director called me this evening to offer me a job!  It’s not a huge job, just teaching on Saturday morning, but it’s a start.

And then, God chuckled.

Because no sooner had I gotten off the phone with that center director — when I opened an email only to find that the center director of a different MT franchise wanted to talk to me!  She wants me to teach for her, too!  Now, these two center directors know each other; the one gave the other my email.  And they know that they’re both offering me positions, and it’s very possible I could work for both of them simultaneously.  But, after talking to this second center director, I can see some real possibilities for long-term plans, and that’s exciting!  We had such a good conversation together that we’re going to try to get together next week sometime to talk in person.

We’ll see how all of this plays out, but I’m glad to feel like I’m starting to be able to make some plans.  I’m thankful that God is starting to show me a direction for my future path.  🙂

One thought on “an answer to a prayer

  1. That’s awesome Emily! BTW, I could picture you doing anyone of those things on your list, you have blest with many talents!

Comments are closed.